Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2010, 05:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

A/C not working, condensation on pipe


I have a York Diamond 80 natural gas furnace (model #: P4HUA12N06401A) setup in the basement and controlled by a Honeywell thermostat (model#: T8112D1005) on the main floor. The furnace is hooked up to the fan unit on the outside of the house. These are probably 8 years old or so when this house was built.
My A/C stopped working last night. There's no air blowing, so here's what I found:

1. Outside Fan Unit: I don't see the fan turning outside and no water being periodically discharged, like it used to earlier

2. Inside Furnace: When I power on the furnace and then turn on the A/C via thermostat to start the cooling, I hear some "puttering sound" in the pipes like water is being tossed... That is all I hear - there's no sound of the furnace starting up (the outside fan doesn't start). Pretty soon the copper pipe covered with foam insulation has condensation and ice over it (where visible).
I have replaced the air filter with a new one (it was 6 months old, but not totally clogged).

Are there any pointers you gurus out there could give me on what to look for?
Is the freon level low - how can I check?
Is the drainage pipe clogged - if so, how do I check and clean that?
Is the pilot light or equivalent off - how do I turn it back on?

Anything else that I can check for you?

I have included pictures so it is ready reference and easy for me to understand what you suggest. The last 2 pictures have red arrows where the condensation happens on the pipe. The foam insulation is torn in a few places and that is where the ice is visible, after some time.

Many thanks in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
A/C not working, condensation on pipe-1.jpg   A/C not working, condensation on pipe-img_4440.jpg   A/C not working, condensation on pipe-img_4441.jpg   A/C not working, condensation on pipe-img_4442.jpg   A/C not working, condensation on pipe-img_4443.jpg  

A/C not working, condensation on pipe-img_4445.jpg  


Last edited by RightKid; 09-01-2010 at 05:37 PM. Reason: clarity
RightKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 02:32 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Default

A/C not working, condensation on pipe


So I turned off everything yesterday. and I tried to turn on one by one.
- On the thermostat, the System is Off and I changed the Fan to On from Auto. There's no change, the fan doesn't turn on. Is it supposed to work like that?
- On the thermostat, turned System to Cold and set temp to 79 degrees, and Fan to On. When nothing happened, changed Fan to Auto. Still nothing
- With both the above, there's now nothing happening near the furnace. It's just dead silent. No "puttering sound" or condensation on the pipes.

I would really appreciate your advice on what to do next, if not I'll hire someone to take a look. I just want to understand what could be wrong and hopefully relate to whatever the repairman tells me, so I'm not taken for a ride!
Thank you

RightKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 04:55 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,381
Default

A/C not working, condensation on pipe


Check your fan motor, is it getting 120 volts?
Is the motor's run capacitor good, replace it to see if its good or bad, if you have 120 volts going to the motor.

Could have a bad control board in the furnace.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 04:59 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

A/C not working, condensation on pipe


Frost on the pipe is from not enough refrigerant or not enough air going through the indoor coil. Since your furnace fan doesn't work it's the later. Need to check if the motor is getting high voltage or not to determine if it's the motor or blower control at fault.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 04:47 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Default

A/C not working, condensation on pipe


and your filter is in backwards
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 08:51 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Default

A/C not working, condensation on pipe


Thank you for your responses. looks like the blower motor is out. When I turn the thermostat Fan to On from AUto, it doesn't do anything. My filter is fine, I just changed it as well (in the correct direction). However, is there any way i can confirm if it's definitely the blower motor? Would you know where I can get a replacement - would I have to go to York or can I get a generic from anywhere?
thanks guys.

RightKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to stop sump pump discharge pipe freezing??? relbeig Plumbing 8 11-12-2012 12:03 PM
AC Coil drain pipe questions fritzycat1 HVAC 14 11-12-2010 03:51 PM
Backing off OLD galvanizd pipe...& PVC to cast iron michael76 Plumbing 13 02-17-2009 11:18 PM
Hello from Indiana! Irishking23 HVAC 17 01-17-2008 05:49 PM
Need to support 15th of ABS pipe irishtimes101 Plumbing 3 09-01-2006 11:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.