Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-14-2010, 04:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Share |
Question

A/C not blowing enough, not cooling enough


About a month and a hlaf ago I noticed my a/c unit was not working right. Two thing I noticed was it wasn't cooling like it used to and the air blowing was less. Before when my fan would kick on you could hear it suck up the a/c filter, I don't hear that anymore.

So I called a tech out. He looked the system over, proclaimed everything was working and topped off the freon on the system. He said to keep an eye on it.

Well I noticed it's still running longer than normal to get to a temp I've always set it too. But yesterday all of a sudden the temp is increasing instead of decreasing.

The condenser is not freezing up and is sweating fine. No burning smells. So I've done some research and all I can think of it the blower itself is maybe extremely dirty and needs cleaning. I do run the a/c a lot living in SoCal. I do keep the filters changed regularly.

Any opinions?

Thanks,
Dave
engineco16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 05:13 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,491
Default

A/C not blowing enough, not cooling enough


Probably a dirty indoor coil. And now the tech may have overcharged it.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 05:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Default

A/C not blowing enough, not cooling enough


The tech was pretty cautious about overcharging. He kept saying how bad it would be for the unit. I really think though on the 12 y/o unit it's got to be a dirt issue. When I get home I'll check the indoor coil and blower blades and go from there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Probably a dirty indoor coil. And now the tech may have overcharged it.
engineco16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 05:39 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

A/C not blowing enough, not cooling enough


Lots of 12 year old evap coils leak. If yours really needed freon then it has a leak somewhere .
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 11:32 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Default

A/C not blowing enough, not cooling enough


OK so I get home. Go up in the attic and look at the unit. It's a Comfortmaker. I don't see any access to the inner coils or an easy way to get the blower out. I checked the cooling temp at a duct in the bathroom and it's at 61 degrees.

So why isn't it blowing as hard as it used too? And is it blowing cool enough?

Thanks,
Dave
engineco16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 11:59 AM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,333
Default

A/C not blowing enough, not cooling enough


What is the house temp and how humid is it outside. Get that from the weather channel. You should be able to drop the temp at least 15 deg F. Ie: 75 in house 60 at register (rule of thumb). Do you have flex ducting in the attic? Has any of it fallen/collapsed or is disconnected or leaking.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 12:12 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,491
Default

A/C not blowing enough, not cooling enough


Should have screws at the access panels. that you need to take out to gain access to the coil and blower.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 12:16 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Default

A/C not blowing enough, not cooling enough


Right now the house it down to 79, it was 81 about 45 min ago. Right now it's at 90 degrees and 35%RH. It has been unusually hot and humid here this week, in the mid 100's and thunder storms over the mountains.

The duct all looks good and all registers are blowing equal, but not like they use too.
engineco16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 12:33 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Default

A/C not blowing enough, not cooling enough


When I get home in an hour I'll take photos of all sides and post them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Should have screws at the access panels. that you need to take out to gain access to the coil and blower.
engineco16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A/C not blowing cold air... rnorred13 HVAC 9 04-03-2014 03:03 AM
Help! Just changed my Fan Controler (ICM 275) now system "false starts" when cooling redmachodevil HVAC 4 01-26-2011 03:21 AM
kenmore fridge/freezer not cooling dmcculley Appliances 0 07-10-2010 10:47 AM
Wiring a Ruud RGTK-06E series furnace for 2-ton cooling bolo_invictus HVAC 3 01-25-2010 03:24 PM
Installation of Honeywell Thermostat - cooling function KDW Electrical 0 10-04-2009 09:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.