Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2010, 04:57 PM   #31
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,905
Share |
Default

A/C Not blowing cold air!


Hate to say it but there is no such thing as a GOOD used compressor. If it comes from someone else's system it may have moisture or acid or contaminants from their system which can now damage yours. Compressors and their valves wear out. It may have had a power surge. You may be throwing good $$ after bad IMO.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 05:09 PM   #32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 25
Default

A/C Not blowing cold air!


So used compressor is a bad idea!

The wire was burnt pretty bad so I don't think the rubber mallet idea will work. It might work for my release of frustration!!

My unit is a TRANE xe 900 MF Date: Stone Age (April 1988)
MOD # TTD724A100A0
Ser # C15215912

With that said do I replace with a new compressor or get a new unit all together?
hearmeroar874 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 05:23 PM   #33
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,382
Default

A/C Not blowing cold air!


New unit/system.

While replacing both the outdoor unit, and the indoor coil is expensive. You get a full parts warranty.
And lower cooling bill.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 05:54 PM   #34
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,905
Default

A/C Not blowing cold air!


A 22 year old indoor coil may not last very long and then the wife will be REALLY happy with you for making a poor choice of repair vs replace. The coil is 8 SEER and obsolete. Better to go with a new higher efficiency system. Check if there are any rebates from your elec utility and goverrnent.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 07:20 PM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Default

A/C Not blowing cold air!


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
take a rubber mallet. And smack the compressor. It might reset the internal over load, if its stuck. if it doesn't, then the winding may have burnt up.

Used equipment is often a bad idea.

I know where you can get one real cheap though. Your's, its used.

Find out what warranty you get with it.

Also, have your tech find out why yours burnt up.
Excellent advice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hearmeroar874 View Post
So used compressor is a bad idea!

The wire was burnt pretty bad so I don't think the rubber mallet idea will work. It might work for my release of frustration!!

My unit is a TRANE xe 900 MF Date: Stone Age (April 1988)
MOD # TTD724A100A0
Ser # C15215912

With that said do I replace with a new compressor or get a new unit all together?
Yuri is right - there is no such thing as a good used compressor.

It's time to upgrade to a new R410a system.
Glen McIver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 07:41 PM   #36
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Default

A/C Not blowing cold air!


Quote:
Originally Posted by hearmeroar874 View Post
Ok, boys back to your corners !

So this is my bad news... one of windings (if my terminology is incorrect please accept my apologies and correct me gently) in the compressor terminal is "wide open" measuring very high, the other two were around 2.6ohms and 1.3ohms. (Tech measured these) Also the orange wire (run wire? is that right) was connected to the bad winding and burnt up like a piece of paper! Results NEED A NEW COMPRESSOR!!!!! So to cut expenses I am looking for a good used compressor because I'm broke like the majority of the world! My tech referred me to someone but I can't get a hold of this guy. Two weeks of no AC in humid ass Florida is cause for an act of insanity!!!!
2.6 ohms and 1.3 ohms are very, very low numbers. In a "wide open" circuit the ohm reading would surpass the 10,000,000 ohm mark on a good meter. If the metered circuit read 1.3 or 2.6 ohms, you have a short circuit in the windings which explains your situation. What you should normally expect to see is a low ohm reading that climbs to a high ohm reading because your meter is sending through a small amount of current to test the resistance. As the windings become charged, an eddy current surrounds the coiled wiring and forms an electromagnetic field that resists the flow of current and causes an increase in the ohm reading.

Getting accurate readings depends on the quality of the meter. I've had millwrights with 30 years experience tell me to my face that I was absolutely wrong, only to replace the part I said to and have myself proven right. I'm still owed a few apologies. Anyways, electronics are a funny thing because you can't 'see' what is happening. Always go with the science.

By the way, the bad news is that it's time to replace your a/c.
Glen McIver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 08:39 PM   #37
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Default

A/C Not blowing cold air!


i am missing something here was the unit running or not?did you have to reset breaker or replace fuses to start unit when you ohm the compressor term one will always be higher than the others its the start winding a hermetic compressor analyzer is the best way to confirm its dead or you can't reset your breaker is the other good clue its dead.there are very few mech that can really condemn a herm compressor or unless the tech is paid on commission the its easy to condemn it
jomama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 02:43 PM   #38
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 25
Default

A/C Not blowing cold air!


The unit runs, however when the tech was looking at the wiring to the terminal the wires were burnt severly.

Working on a budget here (which is close to nothing) I can't afford a new unti. I was looking at Grainger on line but can't figure out what compressor to get, please inform.

By the by Yuri I have no wife because I am a female. Shocked?
hearmeroar874 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 03:33 PM   #39
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,905
Default

A/C Not blowing cold air!


No, we have some regular female posters but most of us techs are old school "good ole boys".
I would suggest a second opinion from another company w/o telling them what the first one said. The internal overload may have now reset, but it is rare they trip unless the unit has been severely overheated etc. There may be more problems. That is a likely a Trane compressor with special fittings and only their compressor will fit. A few use generic compressors but only a tech can determine how to make it fit. Not something you can figure out online.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 07-31-2010 at 03:43 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 03:54 PM   #40
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 25
Default

A/C Not blowing cold air!


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
No, we have some regular female posters but most of us techs are old school "good ole boys".
I would suggest a second opinion from another company w/o telling them what the first one said. The internal overload may have now reset, but it is rare they trip unless the unit has been severely overheated etc. That is a likely a Trane compressor with special fittings and only their compressor will fit. A few use generic compressors but only a tech can determine how to make it fit. Not something you can figure out online.
I'm a "good ole gal" that's been taught by her father to be independent! So with that said it's great to be able to learn from the 'good ole boys'.

Can you explain how the internal overload may have reset itself? If it did reset is that a good thing and then can I just replace the wires or no?

In regards to the fuse: When my roommate came home she said that the air was not on and found the unit tripped off. She turned it on and this is when it stopped blowing cold air. It was still running and blowing out air just not cold.

In regards to the windings: There were three windings, one read 1.3ohms, the other 2.6ohms, and the third (which is where the burnt up orange wire was attached) registered very high I didn't even see it register a number.
hearmeroar874 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 04:17 PM   #41
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,905
Default

A/C Not blowing cold air!


It is a heat operated switch buried in the windings of the compressor. If the wire was loose and corroded and reduced the voltage to the compressor then the amps draw went up and the compressor may have overheated (and been damaged). I would want a skilled tech present when the wiring is fixed and the compressor re-started. If there is a bigger problem it may literally burn out/catch fire inside the shell and contaminate the system with acid etc. Then it is REALLY expensive to repair. A fan of Helen Reddy are you?
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 05:15 PM   #42
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 25
Default

A/C Not blowing cold air!


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
It is a heat operated switch buried in the windings of the compressor. If the wire was loose and corroded and reduced the voltage to the compressor then the amps draw went up and the compressor may have overheated (and been damaged). I would want a skilled tech present when the wiring is fixed and the compressor re-started. If there is a bigger problem it may literally burn out/catch fire inside the shell and contaminate the system with acid etc. Then it is REALLY expensive to repair. A fan of Helen Reddy are you?
Sorry, I can't say I'm very familiar with Helen Reddy .

It sounds like I'm just gonna have to either replace compressor all together or new unit. It'll be next year when I have enough money to do so but oh well, I grew up with no air guess I can do it again!
hearmeroar874 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 05:41 PM   #43
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,905
Default

A/C Not blowing cold air!


Your name is similar to some of her lyrics:http://www.lyricsdepot.com/helen-reddy/i-am-woman.html
A popular song back in my ole days.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 06:02 PM   #44
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 25
Default

A/C Not blowing cold air!


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Your name is similar to some of her lyrics:http://www.lyricsdepot.com/helen-reddy/i-am-woman.html
A popular song back in my ole days.

I see I see!
hearmeroar874 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 01:13 PM   #45
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 25
Default

A/C Not blowing cold air!


Ok HVAC Gentlemen or Ladies if out there,

The decision has been made! A new unit it will be!

Please talk to me about some of the best units with best warranty with a fairly inexpensive price. I've heard I should get a 13 seer (I know it's not the energy saver that gets a tax credit but it's the least expensive).

The cooling/heating area of the house is approximately 1200 sqft (a little less).

How does this effect my heating?

Do I stick with a 2 ton cooling?

hearmeroar874 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A/C not blowing cold air... rnorred13 HVAC 9 04-03-2014 03:03 AM
HEIL/ICP gas/electric self-contained unit -- blowing cold air, won't shut off AboveTheBULL HVAC 3 06-28-2010 06:23 AM
Help! Furnace blowing cold air. Thanks. crosely HVAC 0 11-30-2009 10:17 AM
Blowing cold air but not enough jimmmy4 HVAC 5 06-11-2009 04:42 PM
Furnace blowing cold air. rileyc HVAC 4 02-19-2009 02:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.