Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2011, 02:27 PM   #16
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

a/c not blowing cold air


Try to call this supplier with you model and serial#

http://www.myhvacparts.com/Catalogue...at%20Pumps.htm

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 05:47 PM   #17
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

a/c not blowing cold air


get a 40A resistive contactor and you will be fine.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 07:41 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

a/c not blowing cold air


i went with a 35a. think that will work also?
verycold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 08:16 PM   #19
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

a/c not blowing cold air


yes, should be fine
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 11:45 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

a/c not blowing cold air


ok. contactor came in. i installed. still same issue. Ideas?
verycold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 01:10 AM   #21
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

a/c not blowing cold air


Quote:
Originally Posted by verycold View Post
OK. fan blade moves easily. now how do i go about checking the capacitor and motor?

Power off to unit by breaker or disconnect. Before removing wires from the capacitor make sure you know which wires go to which terminals. Write then down. Then disconnect the cap, discharge it by sticking a screwdriver across the poles and with meter that has mfd capability check the mfd between the herm and c (common) terminal and then the fan and c terminal. As already posted, the plus or minus percentage of each mfd number will need to be in range.

Or if you don't have a meter then get all data from the cap or disconnect (after turning power off) and take it with you and go get the exact same one. Now the voltage you can go up on but the mfd has to stay the same.

example on a dual run cap: 60mfd 5mfd +/- 5% 370v. You need to get a 60 (bigger number is for the compressor) 5 (smaller number would be for the fan), plus minus the same percentage so +/- 5% but you can go up in the voltage from 370 to 440 so a replacement 60mfd 5mfd +/- 5% 440v would work coming from a 60mfd 5mfd +/-5% 370v.

If that does not fix the problem than go ahead and buy a fan motor.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 06:53 AM   #22
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

a/c not blowing cold air


does the contactor pull in during a call for cooling?
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 07:54 AM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

a/c not blowing cold air


no. it appears as if it never gets the call for it to turn on. i will check the other posted idea
verycold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 08:52 AM   #24
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

a/c not blowing cold air


push the contactor in.... does it run? if it does then you have a low voltage issue.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 02:52 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

a/c not blowing cold air


yes it does run. i do notice that the fan blades seem to be touching the enclosure a bit. doesnt look like enough to create a major issue but how would i change that and how to i fix the low voltage problem?
verycold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 02:54 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

a/c not blowing cold air


also the fan doesnt turn when i push the contactor in to provide power
verycold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 04:26 PM   #27
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

a/c not blowing cold air


first thing to do is to follow (trace) the low voltage wires from the outside unit into the inside unit and then to the thermostat. Look for breaks in the wire or missing insulation. The fan may not be turning if the blades are stuck on the enclosure.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 07:46 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

a/c not blowing cold air


ok so finally figured it out. i got a bad contactor. now that that is replaced it works. the reason the fan was not spinning was the fan was caught on the side. i dropped the blade down to have clearance and now it works.

verycold is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A/C not blowing cold air... rnorred13 HVAC 9 04-03-2014 03:03 AM
Outside unit blowing cold air johna_d HVAC 1 04-10-2011 10:38 PM
HEIL/ICP gas/electric self-contained unit -- blowing cold air, won't shut off AboveTheBULL HVAC 3 06-28-2010 06:23 AM
Help! Furnace blowing cold air. Thanks. crosely HVAC 0 11-30-2009 10:17 AM
Furnace blowing cold air. rileyc HVAC 4 02-19-2009 02:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.