Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2013, 07:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

A/c Help


I had ac installed 2 weeks ago by what I thought was a pro,,and they did a bad install..

they covered (closed off) 8in x 12in of the supply opening on handler,,,and made a straight plenum not going into a distribution box,is this ok??

air handler sound like theirs a storm brewing inside,,and the air handler is on lowest setting 21/2 ton,,its a variable speed goodman,,,all the help would be greatly appreciated I spent good money and feel ripped off,,,

I would like to know what to tell them needs fixing,,( on top of the fact they probally oversized the unit 3.5 ton on 1400sf,, miami fl,,

thanks
Attached Thumbnails
A/c Help-dsc05210.jpg   A/c Help-dsc05215.jpg  

david280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 08:44 PM   #2
Member
 
sktn77a's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 259
Default

A/c Help


Hard to see from your pictures and description but what exactly don't you like about the install?

sktn77a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 09:38 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Default

A/c Help


they covered (closed off) 8in x 12in of the supply opening on handler,,,and made a straight plenum not going into a distribution box,is this ok??
david280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 03:37 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,489
Default

A/c Help


Plenum only is fine. But the closing off of the air handlers outlet is not. You have a high static pressure now, and VS ECM motors don't like that.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (03-24-2013), david280 (03-24-2013)
Old 03-24-2013, 08:34 AM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,992
Default

A/c Help


Several problems:
1) The life of the motor is going to be shortened by the stress and it is a VERY expensive motor to replace
2) If it is a 3.5 ton unit with 2.5 tons of air going thru it then it will freeze up the indoor coil and damage the compressor
3) A oversized unit won't run long enough (short cycle) and won't dehumidify your house properly which is a major problem in your area
4) a UNit with excessive static pressure in the plenum sometimes won't drain the condensate properly from the indoor coil and it may overflow and you get ceiling damage

U should do a heat load calc, spend a few $$ and find out the proper size.

http://www.hvaccomputer.com/gtarget1...Fe4-MgodPF4AoQ
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 03-24-2013 at 08:36 AM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (03-24-2013), david280 (03-24-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.