Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-19-2013, 02:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Question

A/C, Fan , Gas Furance not turning on. Help Plz


My AC, Fan, and Furance won't turn on.
Things I have replaced are
Control Board with exact same model
Safety switch for door
Transformer for unit

Things I have checked
I have 120v into transformer and 24v coming out
No lights on control board
I tried jumping wires at thermostat R to G, R to Y, R to W nothing happens
3 amp fuse on control board isn't blown
Breaker on the outside is not tripped(I turned off and on to reset)

Please help I don't know where to go from here

Rook775 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 02:55 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,291
Rewards Points: 2,244
Default

A/C, Fan , Gas Furance not turning on. Help Plz


You most likely burnt up the board, with your checks.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 02:58 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

A/C, Fan , Gas Furance not turning on. Help Plz


It's a new board and how would I burnt it without any smells or smoke . wouldn't the 3 amp fuse go out first?
Rook775 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 03:05 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,291
Rewards Points: 2,244
Default

A/C, Fan , Gas Furance not turning on. Help Plz


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rook775 View Post
It's a new board and how would I burnt it without any smells or smoke . wouldn't the 3 amp fuse go out first?
Not necessarily. Also not always does the "Magic Smoke" get released when things go bad.

Usually the first things you are going to check for, is it the thermostat. If the thermostat does not turn the unit on or off, then replace with another and see what happens. Check for power at the furnace & a/c or heatpump. If there is power, and the thermostat is still not turning on the furnace, then yes check the kill switch, to see if that is faulty.

Jumping across the terminals like you did, you most likely fried a chip, diode, resistor on the board in the furnace.

Lets go to the beginning. What led you to having to check why it was not starting in the first place. Was the board in the furnace showing any error codes on the LED? What manufacturer & model of furnace, along with same for thermostat.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 03:12 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

A/C, Fan , Gas Furance not turning on. Help Plz


No led was lighting on the control board. I just replaced it because I got a good deal on one.
its a GMP100-3 Rev A
Control board is Goodman B18099-13 1012-933A

I have power to transformer 120v and 24v coming out. I have 24v at the board as well.
Thermostat is Carrier TSTATCCPQ501
Rook775 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 03:21 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,628
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

A/C, Fan , Gas Furance not turning on. Help Plz


where exactly did U get the board. Brand new in a sealed pkg from Goodman or e-bay. Lots of those boards can be used etc. That board if not grounded properly will blow. The bracket it mounts to on the fan comes loose and it loses grd and blows. Have to tighten the bracket and put extra screws in it to the fan housing to keep it tight.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 03:22 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,291
Rewards Points: 2,244
Default

A/C, Fan , Gas Furance not turning on. Help Plz


If there was no LED or power indicator on the board, then there is other issues at hand, why there is no power getting from the transformer, to the board. See this thread from 2006 Goodman GMP100-3 Forced air furnace See this thread from 2011 Goodman Furnace not working
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 03:25 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

A/C, Fan , Gas Furance not turning on. Help Plz


I got it used off ebay, I still have the original board too. I had heard that as well and checked to make sure it is not loose and it wasn't, screws are making good contact.
If it is a blown board how can I verify this?
Rook775 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 03:28 PM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,628
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

A/C, Fan , Gas Furance not turning on. Help Plz


You cannot. Get a new OEM board. Then add some extra screws to that bracket where it mounts to the fan. I also will run a green ground wire from that bracket to the ground line of the 120 volts supply to make 100% sure it is grounded.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 10-19-2013 at 03:30 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 03:36 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

A/C, Fan , Gas Furance not turning on. Help Plz


So your saying if the ground is proper and the power is gong to it the red light should just stay on? instead of it being off?
Rook775 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 04:03 PM   #11
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,628
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

A/C, Fan , Gas Furance not turning on. Help Plz


Yes....
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 06:00 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,578
Rewards Points: 2,836
Default

A/C, Fan , Gas Furance not turning on. Help Plz


A used board from Ebay, is often a board that was abused when as it was ripped out of the old furnace it came from.

Before you go investing a lot of money in replacing boards in your that GMP. Pull the blower out, crawl into the blower compartment. Either use a mirror, or stick your head up in the opening to the heat exchanger. And look for loose crimp rings laying on the base. That model is Known for popping them. if you find any, or see any are missing, then the heat exchanger is shot. Replace furnace.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 06:49 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,437
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

A/C, Fan , Gas Furance not turning on. Help Plz


never never did I say never ....purchase used control boards for any type of furnace off e-bay..always buy them new...ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 06:52 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,437
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

A/C, Fan , Gas Furance not turning on. Help Plz


hey rock if you do purchase a new board ...read precautions in "electrostatic discharge section of instructions...ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 07:01 PM   #15
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Rewards Points: 250
Default

A/C, Fan , Gas Furance not turning on. Help Plz


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere
A used board from Ebay, is often a board that was abused when as it was ripped out of the old furnace it came from.

Before you go investing a lot of money in replacing boards in your that GMP. Pull the blower out, crawl into the blower compartment. Either use a mirror, or stick your head up in the opening to the heat exchanger. And look for loose crimp rings laying on the base. That model is Known for popping them. if you find any, or see any are missing, then the heat exchanger is shot. Replace furnace.
Been, speaking of those GMP going bad look at this one I had about a year ago. The HX is literally full of rust and when I removed it, it started dripping water. Worst one i have seen, so far.

This is once I removed the collector box
A/C, Fan , Gas Furance not turning on. Help Plz-image-1917346617.jpg



A/C, Fan , Gas Furance not turning on. Help Plz-image-1357369699.jpg

This is it sitting outside and leaking water that was already inside of it when I got there


A/C, Fan , Gas Furance not turning on. Help Plz-image-1238919298.jpg

A/C, Fan , Gas Furance not turning on. Help Plz-image-552818778.jpg



And the secondary HX was just as bad


A/C, Fan , Gas Furance not turning on. Help Plz-image-2512144320.jpg

Now whenever I see an GMP I get edgy and always check the heat exchanger

HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HVAC1000 For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (10-19-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
House Valve (Gate Valve) Not Turning Off pvryderz Plumbing 7 10-24-2012 08:19 PM
Is this how a gas furance works? marriedmanw HVAC 19 10-08-2012 08:37 PM
Hot Water Turning Cold - Could it be the washer/dryer? kissiffer4 Plumbing 3 01-28-2010 04:47 PM
Pluming Hot Water Turning Cold - Help! kissiffer4 Off Topic 1 01-14-2010 05:00 PM
Ventless gas fireplace vs. Home furance Dougit General DIY Discussions 6 01-05-2008 04:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.