Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-05-2012, 12:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

A/C ducts


3 of my rooms are not getting cool, but the rest of the house is really cool. I have looked at the ductwork in the attic and can't really tell if it is disconnected somewhere or not. There are parts of the duct work that is covered in insulaton, could that be part of the problem? Also, I noticed that there is a piece of duct that is open and pointed towards the turbin, is that supposed to be like that or does it need to be connected somewhere?

hughes458 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 12:16 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

A/C ducts


Probably was left open when someone was working up there and wanted some cool air. It should be connected to something, either a splitter box (one big duct feeds a box that then has smaller ducts running from it to the rooms) or directly to a register.

Do you know if you have dampers? And btw, ducts should never be laying on the attic floor but should be strapped up. That's a part of your problem right there. Also check to make sure all ducts have no kinks in their runs.

If you do not have dampers on the ducts to control air flow do you have the aforementioned splitter boxes or "Y" configurations up there where again, a Y would consist of one bigger duct breaking off into two smaller ducts at a Y connection? It is always best to have dedicated runs and not split or Y'ed runs, especially without dampers.


Last edited by Doc Holliday; 09-05-2012 at 12:20 PM.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 12:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 586
Default

A/C ducts


The duct in the turbine is it connected to the return.
. Maybe fresh air?
__________________
digitalplumber is just a name for use here, I am not a plumber!
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re-Route Ducts into Addition? CroMagnon HVAC 3 07-07-2012 08:15 PM
Transite HVAC ducts Jordy HVAC 1 06-18-2012 04:25 AM
Transfer ducts rock!!! bobinphx HVAC 18 01-29-2012 05:15 PM
Can you glue to HVAC Ducts tro0925 HVAC 3 03-24-2011 03:31 PM
Using PVC ducts instead of standard ducts robertmazzo HVAC 3 10-05-2006 04:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.