A/C Concrete Slabs - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2010, 09:47 AM   #1
Member
 
jelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 178
Rewards Points: 156
Default

A/C concrete slabs


Hello- I am preparing to have my 3 ton Goodman a/c unit installed next week. This weekend I am going to pour the slab but I wanted to get some feedback first. The unit has a foot print of 29 x29. Can I dig 4" down into the soil without creating a form or does the slab have to be raised? Is a 4" slab thick enough? Will a 30" x 30" slab be large enough? The unit will be placed in a corner next to the house and a fence, how far should it be from the house?

Thanks.

Advertisement

jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 09:51 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,099
Rewards Points: 836
Default

A/C concrete slabs


The slab should be above grade. We use concrete sidewalk blocks and put them on 2" of crushed gravel and edging around the gravel so it does not wash away. I would allow at least 18" clearance on all sides for proper airflow and so a "healthy" sized tech can get in there to wash it and service it. Some units have louvers on the sides to remove and you need at least that much clearance.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 02:41 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

A/C concrete slabs


One consideration is how stable the soil is next to your house. I once built an addition and placed a site poured pad for the unit half way over the backfill and stable soil. Nine months later I got a call from the client saying the compressor had failed because the unit had tilted as the backfilled soil had compacted. The HVAC contractor said he had seen this many times before -- apparently keeping the unit level is crucial. ...and of course I paid for the repair.
housefxr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To Keep Your Concrete Mixer Driver Happy Mort How To Guides 38 02-12-2014 07:25 PM
How can I insulate precast concrete slabs, and prevent mold of coming back? Ivance Building & Construction 3 12-18-2009 11:27 AM
leveling ridge between 2 concrete slabs - how far? SR996 Flooring 5 03-27-2009 10:14 PM
Concrete slabs nealchater General DIY Discussions 1 06-30-2008 08:16 PM
new concrete floor next to old concrete floor mattroos Building & Construction 10 08-28-2007 02:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts