Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2012, 09:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 14
Share |
Default

Bypass Blower Time Delay Relay?


I am installing a heat pump split system and are not getting 24v at the BTDR. I beleave i can bypass BTDR with out damage. I just want another opinion.

timtimory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 10:23 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Default

Bypass Blower Time Delay Relay?


Quote:
Originally Posted by timtimory View Post
I am installing a heat pump split system and are not getting 24v at the BTDR. I beleave i can bypass BTDR with out damage. I just want another opinion.
schematic please..... or go ahead and duck....lol

carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 10:49 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Bypass Blower Time Delay Relay?


I am installing a heat pump split system and are not getting 24v at the BTDR. I beleave i can bypass BTDR with out damage. I just want another opinion. The schematics show from the transformer to the Blower Time Delay Relay and dose not show normaly open or closed and from the relay out of the airhandler case.
timtimory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 08:52 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Bypass Blower Time Delay Relay?


Thermostat, outside, and airhandler units red wire are not getting 24 volt. these are tapped at air handler. red wire going into blower time delay relay board not getting 24v. red wire comes out to the transformer reads 24v. this wiring is how the schematic shows. I got to get this system running. Im gonna bypass board temporaly.
timtimory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 05:02 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,800
Default

Bypass Blower Time Delay Relay?


Might have a blown fuse. If so, you got a short somewhere.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
timtimory (10-09-2012)
Old 10-09-2012, 07:33 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Bypass Blower Time Delay Relay?


What is XFMR-R and XFMR-C on the wire diagram. XFMR-R is the pin that has no 24V coming through.
timtimory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:12 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,800
Default

Bypass Blower Time Delay Relay?


R is the 24 volt hot, C is the 24 volt common.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 10:13 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Bypass Blower Time Delay Relay?


The 3 amp fuse at the relay board was found to be blown after i bypassed the relay. bypass worked the blower came on. I jumped 24v red to fan green. I did the same with the heat coil. the both work. I changed the fuse and put the themastat back up. Its not turning anything on. I then took it off and lost power again. I guess the fuse is blown again. It looks like a faulty thermastat. I know the R is for 24v and C is for common. What is XFMR stand for?
timtimory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 08:06 AM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,800
Default

Bypass Blower Time Delay Relay?


Transformer.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (10-13-2012)
Old 10-15-2012, 02:36 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Bypass Blower Time Delay Relay?


I tryed a different thermastat and the fuse still blew. I checked over the wires and all conections are tight. I tested the primary and secondary power on the transformer. Fuse only blows when thermastats are hooked up. It dosen't when i jump 24v power. it worls fine when power is jumped. is there a known proble with Goodman Heat pump units and air handlers?
timtimory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 04:01 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Bypass Blower Time Delay Relay?


Sounds like the thermostat isn't wired right.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Marty S. For This Useful Post:
timtimory (10-15-2012)
Old 10-15-2012, 04:25 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,800
Default

Bypass Blower Time Delay Relay?


Thermostats? You have more then one thermostat connected to it?

List what wires are connected where. As above, sounds like its a wiring problem.

Goodman doesn't have a problem with their units shorting out.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
timtimory (10-15-2012)
Old 10-15-2012, 08:55 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Bypass Blower Time Delay Relay?


I got it working. I miss placed one wire after all. The common was on RC instead of C and jumper from R to Rc.
timtimory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 08:57 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Bypass Blower Time Delay Relay?


Quote:
Originally Posted by timtimory View Post
I got it working. I miss placed one wire after all. The common was on RC instead of C and jumper from R to Rc.
Three fuses latter I learned a lesson on first Heatpump install by my self.

timtimory is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd Fireplace Outlet Behavior permagrin Electrical 2 12-17-2011 08:06 AM
Comfortmaker blower intermittent problem jh44ny HVAC 12 07-31-2011 06:41 PM
Aprilaire part 4851 Blower Activation Relay glassr HVAC 0 09-25-2009 03:57 PM
2 Stage AC with older Furnace? SteveTheBuilder HVAC 5 07-18-2008 08:04 PM
Furnace's blower is on all the time but gas burner does not start artgue HVAC 3 01-16-2008 05:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.