Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-11-2007, 08:51 AM   #1

Share |

Burner kicks on too much during a heating cycle....need advice

Yesterday my furnace backfired with such force it blew the flapper valve off the flu and struck a wall about 12 feet away. Tech came out and basically said the unit failed to ignite causing oil to build up and when it finally lit ....KABOOM! it sounded like a shotgun went off.
He replaced the nozzle and adjusted the electrodes. He also said the burner is kicking on to much during a heating cycle. I'm new to oil furnaces so I don't know much about them. The little research I've done, sounds like the burner should kick on first thing, warm up then the fan comes on blowing the warm air through the house. Well, the burner will come on every one or two minutes during a heating cycle. Is this normal? Should I have a tech come back out? Any advice would be appreciated.
JayBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 09:35 AM   #2
Eibwen

Did the Tech say WHY it was kicking on too much during the cycle and did he suggest any corrective action?

If he didnt I would at least call them back and see what they suggest..

12 feet is a long way for that thing to fly.

My parents had oil/hot water heat and always had the company out once a year for PM.
Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 12:53 PM   #3