DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Burned wire behind access panel..

5K views 17 replies 7 participants last post by  Yoyizit 
#1 · (Edited)
Can someone tell me if I can just replace the burned wire seen in the picture or if something (transformer?) needs to be replaced first?
I have 15 years experience in carpentry including basic wiring but I'm not very familiar with HVAC, especially not the wiring.
Just trying to fix this for my grandmother before it dips down into the 20's tonight, gotta keep the lil lady warm. :wink:

Thanks!

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y89/woodlake/burnedwire.jpg

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y89/woodlake/burnedwirecloseup.jpg

#2 ·
Well, it got hot for a reason. If it was due to a loose connection, replacement may be an ok fix.

What is the threaded stud it is attached to? Heater element?

If the threaded stud is deteriorated, it may be the source of heat. So, a new wire would get hot too. I would replace the wire, run the item for a short while, SHUT THE POWER OFF, and feel if the wire or connection is hot.

#3 ·
I'm not sure what the threaded stud is attached to.
I took those pictures and left her house thinking I would get a friend who does heating and air to come over and fix it but he is out of town.
Had I known he was unavailable I would have gotten a lot more information including the model number etc.. I think it is an "American Underwriters"? unit.
And I know it's at least 30 years old.

Where would I be able to purchase the wire? Lowe's/Home Depot/Ace Hardware?

I will probably be going back over there within the next hour and can get more information about the unit including better pictures. (only had my cellphone for pictures earlier)

Thanks for your reply! :)

#6 ·
That is not ordinary wire. Should be stranded, high temp stove grade wire. The stud is attached in the back to the element. If not done properly the wiring can overheat and catch on fire, beware!

#7 · (Edited)