Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2012, 09:06 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,301
Rewards Points: 4
Share |
Default

BTU/h estimates


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Check the info you used for your heat loss. Such as design temps, and infiltration rates. Don't pad it.
yeah I think I had a couple windows wrong, and the infiltration rate was off... also didn't know the exact design conditions for our area (min/high temp outside, moisture grains ect) had to go to the next closest area, found the info for our area last night after looking into it more

BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 09:09 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,301
Rewards Points: 4
Default

BTU/h estimates


Quote:
Originally Posted by REP View Post
Excuse me for going rude here.This thread is all over the page and leaves everyone asking what the ****.
Your house has one heating need.Going too big is going to cost you extra everry time it runs.It wuill be on for a very quick timew then go off and then it will have to come back on extra timews to make up the differance.You will be heating up 1,2,or even 3 extra sections on the heat exchanger and your blower mtr and venting mtr will be bigger (read costs extra to run) than it needs to be.,,You will have more service problems and less effiency.
Too small and you get cold.
Two manuel J 's will not or better should never be way off.
Now putting in a modulating furnace because it will only ramp up to need is a lie.A well sized furnace will have longer runs and will run fewer times .Thats part of the effiency thing.
Throwing in a mod furnace is doing you no favor at all.Afterall its not the installers house.
Do this thing right.You will be living with this for the next 20 years.
Now if your name is Mitt and you only pay 13.9% tax then you can forget what I just wrote,but most of us can't afford to be wastefull.
just to throw this out there, I am the one who asked for a modulating furnace, not the sales guy, why? because the idea it can run low when the heating needs are low is good, why run full blast when you only need to raise the temp 2 degrees? would rather keep the temp swing low as opposed to over shooting it and feeling really hot at first

one of the sales guys was really pushing heat pumps on me.... figured the numbers and it would of cost me more in the end since electric is a good bit now around here...

Last edited by BlueBSH; 02-02-2012 at 09:12 AM.
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to BlueBSH For This Useful Post:
harleyrider (02-02-2012)
Old 02-02-2012, 12:54 PM   #18
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,423
Rewards Points: 70
Default

BTU/h estimates


If you are getting new duct work I would HIGHLY advise you get one of these 5" filters installed. Lasts a long time and reduces the pressure drop in the system. We use them on 95% of our installs. They seal very tight so no dust or air infiltrates the box and ALL the return comes from the house then and not sneaking in from the basement. If you are going whole hog with new ducts I would pay extra and get the joints sealed with mastic/red duro dyne duct sealer or foil tape also. The duro dyne stinks like heck for a day or two so you may need to stay at the relatives but it works incredibly well.

http://www.lennox.com/products/indoo...-systems/HC10/
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 01:59 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,301
Rewards Points: 4
Default

BTU/h estimates


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
If you are getting new duct work I would HIGHLY advise you get one of these 5" filters installed. Lasts a long time and reduces the pressure drop in the system. We use them on 95% of our installs. They seal very tight so no dust or air infiltrates the box and ALL the return comes from the house then and not sneaking in from the basement. If you are going whole hog with new ducts I would pay extra and get the joints sealed with mastic/red duro dyne duct sealer or foil tape also. The duro dyne stinks like heck for a day or two so you may need to stay at the relatives but it works incredibly well.

http://www.lennox.com/products/indoo...-systems/HC10/
already one step ahead of you! 5" filter box was a minimum on the quote sheet, EAC was high end but like all electronic stuff some like it some hate it

and all the ducts are going to be mastic sealed, asked for that also.. i think he said they put mastic then embed a mesh tape? then more mastic over that

I know we aren't supose to talk about money on here, but one guy gave me a quote in the $50k range to do all this work *almost had a heart attack* thankfully the one I picked was much much more realistic in price
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 02:07 PM   #20
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,423
Rewards Points: 70
Default

BTU/h estimates


He DID NOT want the job and we do that when we don't want one and have to quote them, especially with boilers. If it is in a miserable spot etc we quote double and if they really want to pay it then so be it. This guy quoted 3-4X.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 02:10 PM   #21
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

BTU/h estimates


Now I'm curious....how large is your house and what proposal $$$$ did you accept? $50K seems crazy unless yours is a mansion.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 02:11 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,301
Rewards Points: 4
Default

BTU/h estimates


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
He DID NOT want the job and we do that when we don't want one and have to quote them, especially with boilers. If it is in a miserable spot etc we quote double and if they really want to pay it then so be it. This guy quoted 3-4X.
I don't know if its that or he was just out to rip me off, he's called me 3 times this week so far trying to get me to sign the deal here's how long it took him to quote me.... look at the system for 1hr, read the label off hte current stuff look in a price book, write down a quote....

the other guys took 2 weeks to write out a detailed quote
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 02:39 PM   #23
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,423
Rewards Points: 70
Default

BTU/h estimates


He must be smokin some of his own dope. LOL
Attached Images
 
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 03:25 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,301
Rewards Points: 4
Default

BTU/h estimates


2 more calls today from the high bidder... actually answered one just to ask what duct system exactly they where going to put in...... "replace all existing ducts and install a reducing system".... humm a reducing system, the most expensive way to do it... pretty much all custom made duct work... instead of just a straight plenum and take offs they wanted to put the most expensive design in... wonder if this guy was sizing me up... too bad I did 2yrs of research and homework on this... a reducing systme is nice, but gawd that is a lot of work... he said it'd take about 2 weeks to install *face palm* I just flat out told him it's way too much money

2 weeks at $75 an hour... with 5 people no wonder that came out to that much!

Edit: nope he wanted $80 an hour, $75 an hour was another contractor... thats $20k just in labor ugh

Last edited by BlueBSH; 02-03-2012 at 03:29 PM.
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 03:32 PM   #25
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,120
Rewards Points: 150
Default

BTU/h estimates


LOL... I gotta raise my install prices.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 03:34 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,301
Rewards Points: 4
Default

BTU/h estimates


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
LOL... I gotta raise my install prices.
the cheapest company here charges $65 an hour and thats the lowest I've seen, $75 seems standard here
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 03:36 PM   #27
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,120
Rewards Points: 150
Default

BTU/h estimates


Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueBSH View Post
the cheapest company here charges $65 an hour and thats the lowest I've seen, $75 seems standard here

I meant, I gotta start charging 50 grand for whole systems. Never charged that much for a single home system yet.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 03:41 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,301
Rewards Points: 4
Default

BTU/h estimates


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
I meant, I gotta start charging 50 grand for whole systems. Never charged that much for a single home system yet.
You might not be in business long I don't know how this place stayed in business, the guy claims he sold 10 systems the week before... but might of been spewing BS also
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 04:19 PM   #29
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,120
Rewards Points: 150
Default

BTU/h estimates


Probably spewing BS.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 05:32 PM   #30
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,423
Rewards Points: 70
Default

BTU/h estimates


For that amount of coin I would expect it to be in Stainless steel.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help - confused by estimates that specify different size equipment adisb HVAC 8 07-24-2009 10:01 AM
siding estimates in my area of RI? Marg General DIY Discussions 4 05-29-2009 07:27 AM
Plumbing/Elec/Foundation Cost Estimates ACamp Plumbing 7 07-17-2008 12:20 PM
Exterior Painting Estimates...need advice! navi_jen Painting 1 06-23-2008 09:01 PM
Driveway paving estimates chandler35 Building & Construction 1 11-04-2005 07:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.