Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-26-2012, 08:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bryant Plus 90 Problem


I have a Bryant Plus 90 furnace propane that worked once since I turned it on a few days ago and hasn't since. The fan works and the thermostat works. I get code 31 whenever I attempt to start the furnace. The, for a lack of a better term, "little" blower motor comes on and the LED stays lit for about 30 seconds then blinks. 3 fast 1 slow, code 31. I ran a continuity test on the pressure switch terminals and started out with infinity and resulted in infinity. I then checked the air intake PVC pipe and there is no obstruction. I then pulled all the hoses off and blew through them to find they are clear of debris. I checked the condensation trap...empty. My conclusion is the pressure switch is bad.

Am I wrong in thinking this?
Is there another possibility?
Is there any way I could bypass the pressure switch until the new one arrives?

I live in northern Wisconsin and the nights have been getting pretty cold. I would just like to heat the house up for an hour or two and then shut it off for the night. We have a pretty air tight house so the heat stays for a while. Also our furnace is not within the house itself. It is in the attached pole building.

sixstrings24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 09:19 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Bryant Plus 90 Problem


make sure tubes to pressure switch and ventor motor have no obsructions.... if you read 24 volts when ventor motor running pressure switch is open ...may be a bad switch may not be ...lots of things can cause a switch not to close.. the info on furnace should tell you what code 31 means .... i forget what i had for breakfast so i cant help with code 31..

carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 09:20 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Bryant Plus 90 Problem


sixstring,

code error 31 indicated faulty high pressure switch. Something is obstructing the vent or the switch might be bad it self. If you are sure that the exhaust vent are not obstructed, then yes you can test the pressure switch by jumping. Turn on heat, and once the induce draft motor (vent motor) starts, immediately jump the two wires together with a jumper wire, you don't have to take the wires off of the switch, just move it out enough to where you can clip your jumper wire.
Mr.HVAC is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mr.HVAC For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (09-26-2012)
Old 09-26-2012, 09:26 PM   #4
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,498
Rewards Points: 512
Default

Bryant Plus 90 Problem


Also..

(1) Check the exhaust vent for an obstruction.

(2) Remove the PS hose from your ID and use a staightened paper clip to explore inside the ID port it was attached to for a build up.
how is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to how For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (09-26-2012)
Old 09-26-2012, 09:28 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Bryant Plus 90 Problem


there you go ...younger and smarter minds have responded... well done
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 06:18 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bryant Plus 90 Problem


Thank you all for the responses. I am about 98% positive the pressure switch is bad. I jumped the leads on the switch and the burner lit up and ran for around 5 minutes until I removed the jumper and the burner shut off. I figure the burners could not stay lit if there was something obstructing the vent pipe which I had already checked previously. This is my first time working on a furnace but the knowledge I gained will help me in the future. Thank you all for the input .
sixstrings24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 07:04 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Bryant Plus 90 Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by sixstrings24 View Post
Thank you all for the responses. I am about 98% positive the pressure switch is bad. I jumped the leads on the switch and the burner lit up and ran for around 5 minutes until I removed the jumper and the burner shut off. I figure the burners could not stay lit if there was something obstructing the vent pipe which I had already checked previously. This is my first time working on a furnace but the knowledge I gained will help me in the future. Thank you all for the input .
It is a very poor idea to run the furnace with the pressure switch jumped.... there could be something in the pipes thats the switchs job... it is probably bad replace it.... and you will find out
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 07:09 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,437
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

Bryant Plus 90 Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by carmon View Post
It is a very poor idea to run the furnace with the pressure switch jumped.... there could be something in the pipes thats the switchs job... it is probably bad replace it.... and you will find out
fully agree with carmon ..don't run furnace with any of its safety switches jumped out......that is why I personally don't suggest jumping these out because many will leave it like that.... test it with a meter.. either replace it if its bad or put it back if its not....ben

Last edited by ben's plumbing; 09-27-2012 at 09:35 PM.
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 07:14 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Bryant Plus 90 Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by sixstrings24 View Post
Thank you all for the responses. I am about 98% positive the pressure switch is bad. I jumped the leads on the switch and the burner lit up and ran for around 5 minutes until I removed the jumper and the burner shut off. I figure the burners could not stay lit if there was something obstructing the vent pipe which I had already checked previously. This is my first time working on a furnace but the knowledge I gained will help me in the future. Thank you all for the input .
good luck sixstring,

the reason why the burner lit is because you bypassed the switch. So even if it is obstructed, it will lit. I hope that the switch is bad base on the information you provided. If a new one does not solve it, then you definitely got something obstructed that you did not see. LIke other said, don't run the furnace using the bypass method. good luck
Mr.HVAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 07:24 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,437
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

Bryant Plus 90 Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by sixstrings24 View Post
Thank you all for the responses. I am about 98% positive the pressure switch is bad. I jumped the leads on the switch and the burner lit up and ran for around 5 minutes until I removed the jumper and the burner shut off. I figure the burners could not stay lit if there was something obstructing the vent pipe which I had already checked previously. This is my first time working on a furnace but the knowledge I gained will help me in the future. Thank you all for the input .
if you remove the pressure switch from system....the furnace could run till high levels of carbonmonixide are present....because the part that shuts it off due to a restriction or clog is no longer able to do it job?????
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 07:25 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bryant Plus 90 Problem


Thank you Mr. HVAC. I just ordered a new one from eBay for $30.00. I should get it by next Tuesday. If that doesn't fix the problem then I will have to remove the vent pipes which will be tough since they are going through the wall. I might just see if I can't get my hands on a plumbers snake and feed it through the pipes to clear any possible obstructions I could not see from looking down the external end of the pipe.

I did run the furnace to heat up the house for about 30 minutes. Nothing seemed to go wrong. I kept a close eye on it and a hand on the propane shut off valve.
sixstrings24 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sixstrings24 For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (09-27-2012)
Old 09-27-2012, 07:32 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bryant Plus 90 Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by ben's plumbing View Post
if you remove the pressure switch from system....the furnace could run till high levels of carbonmonixide are present....because the part that shuts it off due to a restriction or clog is no longer able to do it job?????
I checked the vent pipe outside and there was air coming out. Our furnace is located in a bathroom in our attached pole building. With the door shut it is completely shut off from the house and the pole building. That and I could feel cold air coming in through the duct where the filter sits.
sixstrings24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 07:36 PM   #13
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,498
Rewards Points: 512
Default

Bryant Plus 90 Problem


It will take you one minute to remove the PS suction line from the ID and see if you have a build up inside the ID port. It's a common issue.
You might of already checked that out with a paperclip and just didn't mention it.
how is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 07:41 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Bryant Plus 90 Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by sixstrings24 View Post
Thank you Mr. HVAC. I just ordered a new one from eBay for $30.00. I should get it by next Tuesday. If that doesn't fix the problem then I will have to remove the vent pipes which will be tough since they are going through the wall. I might just see if I can't get my hands on a plumbers snake and feed it through the pipes to clear any possible obstructions I could not see from looking down the external end of the pipe.

I did run the furnace to heat up the house for about 30 minutes. Nothing seemed to go wrong. I kept a close eye on it and a hand on the propane shut off valve.
You're welcome sixstring,

whatever you do, please don't run it using the bypass method. In fact, take off the jumper wire and unplug the furnace so that your family don't accidently turn it on while you are away. Let us know once you install a new. Oh by the new, don't blow into the pressure switch, that will damage the diaphram (sp).
Mr.HVAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 08:02 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Bryant Plus 90 Problem


gentlemen.... this is very concerning to me.... I do not believe we should be advising anyone to jump a pressure switch on a furnace an air conditioner go ahead everyone will live.. .. we are dealing with a dangerous fuel hear...lets be care full....

carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bryant, furnace, heating, pressure switch, propane


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant model 395cav blower problem. IkeandTina HVAC 8 11-12-2011 05:25 PM
Need Help Fixing Damp Slab Problem in Shop OlyTDI Building & Construction 10 10-30-2011 12:35 AM
75 year chimney leak problem mstanleyg Building & Construction 10 03-30-2010 12:38 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 06:26 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 01:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.