Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2008, 11:20 PM   #1
Member
 
dgbehrends's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 174
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to dgbehrends
Default

Bryant Plus 90 fuse replacement


Hello and thanks for reading,
I have a Bryant Plus90 furnace model #350MAV048100
This is a picture of the sticker. http://img221.imageshack.us/img221/592/bryant6dy3.jpg

Some googling tells me the fuse on the board is a 3amp fuse, even though it has the letter E on it. Can I replace this with a typical 3amp fuse?
I found a listing on Ebay for one the title was this
ATO3 CARRIER/BRYANT GAS FURNACE CIRCUIT BOARD 3AMP FUSE

What does "ATO3" mean?

I would like to pick one up at walmart on my way home so I don't have to bundle up tonight.

I accidentally blew it while shorting R and G together trying to set the blower speed.

__________________
D in MN
dgbehrends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 12:36 AM   #2
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Bryant Plus 90 fuse replacement


Try turning the fuse over. it might say three then.

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 12:47 AM   #3
Member
 
dgbehrends's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 174
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to dgbehrends
Default

Bryant Plus 90 fuse replacement


That was my initial thought, but for some reason it just didn't look like a 3. However if you go with LED numbers then it's got to be a 3.

After some more searching it looks like ATO simple means a standard auto fuse. Picking one up at walmart should do the trick. The one that I have is made by littlefuse and is rated 32V. It looks like a car fuse and I might be able to borrow one out of my car if I want to save myself a trip to walmart tonight.
__________________
D in MN

Last edited by dgbehrends; 11-11-2008 at 12:50 AM.
dgbehrends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 12:50 AM   #4
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Bryant Plus 90 fuse replacement


OIE! (smacking forehead with open palm)

I think you are just trying to have a little fun and are not completely serious .
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 12:55 AM   #5
Member
 
dgbehrends's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 174
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to dgbehrends
Default

Bryant Plus 90 fuse replacement


I edited my post (no longer 100% certain). I think my dyslexia got the better of me.
__________________
D in MN

Last edited by dgbehrends; 11-11-2008 at 11:32 AM.
dgbehrends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 09:57 AM   #6
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Bryant Plus 90 fuse replacement


O h. So that must be a new drink. "O"? j/k
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 01:23 PM   #7
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Bryant Plus 90 fuse replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Try turning the fuse over. it might say three then.
1=I 2=Z 3=E 5=S 7=L 10=OI 20=OZ 30=OE

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 01:26 PM   #8
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Bryant Plus 90 fuse replacement


__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 01:29 PM   #9
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Bryant Plus 90 fuse replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
1=I 2=Z 3=E 5=S 7=L 10=OI 20=OZ 30=OE


Good thing it wasn't a 460 v 3 phase cartridge fuse.

Poor guy may have tried buying a shock absorber in stead.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 01:38 PM   #10
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Bryant Plus 90 fuse replacement


Roflmao!
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 04:06 PM   #11
Member
 
dgbehrends's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 174
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to dgbehrends
Default

Bryant Plus 90 fuse replacement


The 50 cent walmart special did the trick.
__________________
D in MN
dgbehrends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 04:16 PM   #12
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Bryant Plus 90 fuse replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by dgbehrends View Post
The 50 cent walmart special did the trick.

Now your SURE you didn't get the Matel Slot Car fuse by mistake?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 05:45 PM   #13
Member
 
dgbehrends's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 174
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to dgbehrends
Default

Bryant Plus 90 fuse replacement


Yep I'm pretty sure. I think the slot car fuse was a lot more expensive.
__________________
D in MN
dgbehrends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 07:09 PM   #14
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Bryant Plus 90 fuse replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by dgbehrends View Post
Yep I'm pretty sure. I think the slot car fuse was a lot more expensive.
LOL you did good.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 08:46 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Bryant Plus 90 fuse replacement


open your pack of cigarettes remove small piece of foil wrap fuse in foil reinstall now your furnace is like 75% of the rest them out there

kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuse Boxes For Showers Petrena Electrical 3 09-13-2008 02:36 AM
Problems with new fuse box for a dryer. needsomehelp Electrical 12 04-11-2008 12:20 AM
Goodman GMT-070-4 Furnace blows 3A Fuse Bruce Mundy HVAC 4 01-02-2008 11:31 PM
Microwave Fuse Replacement - Overbilling Glasnost Electrical 13 11-18-2007 10:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.