Bryant Plus 90 Code 31 - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2011, 07:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Bryant Plus 90 Code 31


I just moved into a new house two months ago. The house was built in 2006. For the first month the furnace worked just fine. About a month ago I turned the thermostat down because we were going to be leaving for the day. When we came home I turned the thermostat back up and the furnace would not light. The furnace (Bryant 90) was blinking a code of 31. Code 31 is a pressure switch related issue. The furnace turns on for about 90 seconds (blower motor I beleive) then that turns off and the inducer motor comes on. That stays on for about five seconds and that's when the code starts blinking. A cousin of mine who knows about furnaces came over and he cleaned it all up pretty good but it didn't fix the problem. He played with the pressure switch and loosened it with an alan wrench. We made sure the switch still functioned by plugging up the vent on the roof to see if the furnace would shut itself off, and it did when the vent was about three quarters blocked. My cousin talked to his bosses and they told him to clean a few different hoses and to retighten the pressure switch. He also checked the amps to the inducer motor which was normal he said. When he retightened the switch it went back to blinking a 31 code. When he loosened the switch again it started working. We bought a new pressure switch thinking that would fix the problem but it didn't. We put the old pressure switch back on only to find we had to loosen the switch further to make the furnace work. It has been working fine for the last three days now but I would really like to get it fixed with a good (not tampered with) switch. We have kind of run out of ideas.

Advertisement

~kirkland~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 07:14 PM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,368
Rewards Points: 1,100
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Bryant Plus 90 Code 31


you can't adjust those!!!!!!! They come from the factory preset to a specified pressure. When using the allen wrench that is what you are doing (adjusting the pressure) there by changing the pressure it closes at! GET SOMEONE OUT THERE WHO KNOWS WHAT THEY ARE DOING! 99% of the time it is not the press switch! check the intake under the burners to see if there is something stuck in the screen. Also check the intake and exhaust for blockages.

Advertisement

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
error code 45 Turtle learner HVAC 2 01-10-2011 05:09 PM
Bryant 345MAV Code 31 TruckTahoe General DIY Discussions 0 12-14-2010 01:04 PM
Carrier Error Code 33 russell124 HVAC 4 12-04-2010 08:19 PM
Distance between Heater & Combustibles DIY_JC Building & Construction 7 01-20-2009 08:52 AM
Bryant Plus 80 Code 33 fan runs all time! ideas? westomaha HVAC 1 12-25-2008 12:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts