Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2013, 07:46 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 91
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Bryant Model 986T


Can anyone give me a rough price on what this furnace costs? I cannot find anything anywhere online. I do not want anyone coming to my house to try to sell me the furnace and the job. I am just trying to figure out how much I need to save to buy the unit.

Or is it impossible to buy a quality furnace without getting quoted on the unit, installation, service, duct cleaning, duct modification, and whatever else is bundled into the price?

For what its worth for anyone that might ask what I currently have:

Bryant 383KAV042091
Input 88,000 BTU
Output 71,000 BTU

I want to get rid of the chimney running through the master bed to make it useable space.

Thanks

Graham

gjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 08:00 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Bryant Model 986T


Bryant (owned by Carrier) only sells their product to Bryant dealers. If you're looking to DIY the install, you'll have to find a brand that can be bought online, such as Goodman.

hvac benny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 08:18 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 91
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Bryant Model 986T


Are they worth buying? I don't want to spend the money to buy something that will cause problems.
gjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 10:38 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Bryant Model 986T


Quote:
Originally Posted by gjones
Are they worth buying? I don't want to spend the money to buy something that will cause problems.
Nobody does. If you're DIYing this, your options are limited as far as brands. You'll need to do your homework. Find out what brands you can get, then research those to see what is best for you. Proper installation is key, so you'll need to know that you're installing it properly. There's more to it than just connecting the ducts, gas and electric. You could have the best furnace on the market, but if the install is subpar, you will have problems.

Last edited by hvac benny; 01-13-2013 at 10:41 PM.
hvac benny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 01:04 AM   #5
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Bryant Model 986T


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvac benny

Nobody does. If you're DIYing this, your options are limited as far as brands. You'll need to do your homework. Find out what brands you can get, then research those to see what is best for you. Proper installation is key, so you'll need to know that you're installing it properly. There's more to it than just connecting the ducts, gas and electric. You could have the best furnace on the market, but if the install is subpar, you will have problems.
Yes that's why the big brands ( Trane, Carrier, and Lennox) require you to be a contractor and take one of there special two hour classes just to get a hold of their top of the line products. They don't want a bad install to tarnish there name
HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 11:02 AM   #6
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,636
Rewards Points: 2,030
Default

Bryant Model 986T


SO this is just a general question for you HVAC pros.

If I was to install a furnace with the exact same output as my current furnace, my duct-work could be wrong?

Do all you pros do a complete re-assessment of a home before changing out a furnace????
__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 12:35 PM   #7
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 478
Rewards Points: 280
Default

Bryant Model 986T


Quote:
Originally Posted by jagans View Post
SO this is just a general question for you HVAC pros.

If I was to install a furnace with the exact same output as my current furnace, my duct-work could be wrong?

Yes. This manifests itself in short life, short cycling, poor performance.

Do all you pros do a complete re-assessment of a home before changing out a furnace????

The knowledgeable contractors do. Modern equipment is built to closer tolerances-they are not a forgiving on crappy ductwork as the old stuff.

The "box seller" companies don't care about your ductwork or longevity of the system....it will last past the labor warranty.
Technow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 12:35 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Bryant Model 986T


1. Yes, it could be.

2. No, but they should. Like in any trade, some are better than others.
hvac benny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 03:40 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 91
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Bryant Model 986T


@hvac Benny I completely understand that and it is the same in my line of work (performance engines).

@HVAC1000 this is also something I understand, although the majority of products do not require training on the product for someone to be a dealer, just a buy-in.

From the little I know about home hvac systems and my own trial and error work in the home, I am pretty sure that my heating and air ducting is sub-par. There are gaps in all of the return ducts, nothing along the trunk and returns are sealed to anything, including other ducting, the trunk is the same size from the furnace to both ends of the house even though they are substantially different lengths, and there are 6" ducts running to every room, whether its a 25 sq./ft. half bath or a 120 sq./ft. bedroom.

I am probably sure that there are tolerances for duct diameter just like there are tolerances for engines, and even though the work can be within the tolerance it can perform like crap.

I guess I will do what I can in order to save myself money and then start saving up to pay someone else to do the furnace. Any other comments and suggestions are welcome!

Thanks guys

Graham

gjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change capacitor in Bryant Model 345MAV NCDew HVAC 2 10-25-2012 04:31 AM
Bryant 80 series old model wiring problem White_Owl HVAC 3 10-10-2012 03:42 PM
Compressor for Bryant condensing unit model 561CJ036-F sunball HVAC 4 06-04-2012 04:52 PM
Help with Bryant model 395CA error code 32 cmoe_1999 HVAC 2 02-02-2011 09:42 PM
Bryant Model 340MAV048100 Series D Not working mercale HVAC 0 10-01-2009 09:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.