Bryant Model 395cav Blower Problem. - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2011, 11:40 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bryant model 395cav blower problem.


Last night my heater blower quit working. I would turn on the switch inside the unit, and if I remember correctly, the red light on that "motherboard" looking thing would blink and I would hear a hum, but the blower would not come on.

This morning I tried it again, and now when I turn on the switch, the light stays on continuously, but there is no hum.

I've read on a couple of sights that it may just be a capacitor rather than the motor. Naturally if that's all it is, I'd rather replace as few things as possible. The problem is (he said red faced) I don't know what or where the capacitor is.

If someone could help me with that, or if you have any other opinions which might help, I would appreciate it very much.

Advertisement

IkeandTina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 01:23 PM   #2
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 594
Rewards Points: 514
Default

Bryant model 395cav blower problem.


The cap is usually strapped to the blower.


http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s...ace_Tuneup.jpg


Advertisement


Last edited by Houston204; 11-12-2011 at 01:25 PM.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Houston204 For This Useful Post:
IkeandTina (11-12-2011)
Old 11-12-2011, 01:30 PM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,128
Rewards Points: 894
Default

Bryant model 395cav blower problem.


Welcome Back.

Between Texas, BC and Manitoba we seem to have a lot of bases covered.

Doc pay attention this tech knows a LOT about wiring and the biz.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
IkeandTina (11-12-2011)
Old 11-12-2011, 01:35 PM   #4
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Bryant model 395cav blower problem.


I own Houston, thank you very much.

And Kingwood, Spring, Atascosita, Porter, Woodlands, Huffman, Conroe, Humble...

Yeah, Houston's pretty dang good and I do pay attention to a lot of you all already.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
IkeandTina (11-12-2011)
Old 11-12-2011, 01:39 PM   #5
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Bryant model 395cav blower problem.


Btw, I installed a new board yesterday only to have the blower only sometimes come on, the other times it would simply hum. Old cap (strapped to blower housing) was weak. It's reading was a mere 5 mfd, half of rated cap. New 10 mfd and it's all good.

Moral, it very easily can be the cap.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
IkeandTina (11-12-2011)
Old 11-12-2011, 04:09 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bryant model 395cav blower problem.


Excellent info and thank you all! Do any of you know if this is an item I can buy at one of the big box stores... or will I need to go to a supply house or perhaps even order it on-line? And is there a specific size, brand, model, etc. I should ask for?

Thank you again.
IkeandTina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 04:48 PM   #7
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Bryant model 395cav blower problem.


With power off to furnace by way of BREAKER (opposed to thermostat), open the service panel to reveal the blower motor which will reveal the run capacitor. Simply pull the two wires off of the capacitor and remove said capacitor. There will be numbers on it, listed in UF and A/C voltage, stamped as such: 10 uf / 370/440.

Granted I'm just estimating at what the uf (microfarads) number is as each unit requires a different size cap, but take that capacitor with you.

Even better would be if you had a digital multimeter with mfd reading capability to assess if the cap is bad or not before you go on a wild goose chase.

Ps, voltage matters not unless you are going down. You can go from a 370 to a 440 but not from a 440 to a 370. Well, you probably could in these circumstances as your furnace is ony 120 volts but, well, you get the idea. Best not to.

Search for a "Grainger" store near you, they should have it.

Good luck and if any more questions...

Pss, it matters not which two wires go onto each side of new run cap as long as one wire is on one side each.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 05:36 PM   #8
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,555
Rewards Points: 626
Default

Bryant model 395cav blower problem.


To answer your capaciter question, it will be about the same size as a ink cartridge for your computer copier and it is usually attached to the blower housing near the motor. ( or sometimes to the motor itself). It will often have a rubber cap on it covering the two electrical connections from the two wires from the motor.
how is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 06:25 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,051
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Bryant model 395cav blower problem.


TUrn off all power to the unit at the circuit breaker box before you work on it. Don't forget to short the terminals of the cap with the shaft of a metal screwdriver before you touch them; caps store electricity and you could get a shock.

Advertisement

bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Problem w/ New AC Blower Motors - High Speed shuts off after 15 Min? Tyndale Electrical 6 07-10-2011 04:58 AM
Bryant 355MAV blower dies after one or two cycles in high heat, resets to low heat KThomas HVAC 1 11-29-2010 10:06 PM
need help/advice with a blower motor that runs constantly in a old bryant GetYourShineBox HVAC 0 07-27-2010 07:29 PM
Bryant Gas Furnace - blower sarts and stops montepix HVAC 7 12-24-2009 05:11 PM
Furnace Blower Problem SGecko HVAC 2 09-27-2006 11:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts