Bryant Inducer Fan Runs Constantly - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2006, 12:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bryant Inducer Fan Runs Constantly


Own a 90% efficient Bryant model # 398AAZ060100 Series A furnace. The other day I noticed the furnace was off and not calling for heat but the draft inducer fan was running. The only way to turn the draft inducer fan off is by the local disconnect. I replaced the pilot light assembly a few weeks ago and the main circuit board and transformer a couple of years ago. What is causing the fan to run constantly. Appreciate someone advising what is wrong and what part and part number to replace.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Advertisement

biglittledan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2006, 10:23 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Bryant Inducer Fan Runs Constantly


There is a relay imbeded on the main board that sends the signal for that motor to turn on and off, abviously it is stuck "on". The only way to correct the issue is to replace the main board.

Advertisement

acefurnacefixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2006, 11:51 AM   #3
Member
 
HvacWiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 286
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Bryant Inducer Fan Runs Constantly


The main board has already been replaced so i would rule that out.This bryant furnace has a seperate circuit board for the inducer assembly located just to the right of inducer motor behind a small metal box. Just follow motor power wires and it should lead you to the there.
HvacWiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2006, 12:06 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Bryant Inducer Fan Runs Constantly


Quote:
Originally Posted by HvacWiz View Post
The main board has already been replaced so i would rule that out.This bryant furnace has a seperate circuit board for the inducer assembly located just to the right of inducer motor behind a small metal box. Just follow motor power wires and it should lead you to the there.

They did use a seprate board some years ago.......but the more recent units only use a single board. The poster did not give a specific age of his unit. My reply was based on the more comon newer style units.
acefurnacefixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2006, 12:23 PM   #5
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Bryant Inducer Fan Runs Constantly


Hi biglittledan

The problem you are having is due to the edge connector on the main blower board. What you will need to do is shut the power off to the furnace pull the edge connector off and look inside of it, this is a flat white piece of plastic with about eight wires in it that connects on the edge of the blower board. There will be little finger looking pieces in there. If the finger pieces are corroded completely off you will have to replace the wiring harness. If they are just corroded you can unplug the furnace and dip the edge plug into a glass of Coke, when the corrosion is gone dip it into a glass of water to clean all the Coke off of it. Use canned air that you use on your computer keyboard and blow out well. Reinstall edge plug back on the board and see if it works properly. You cannot use Pepsi or anything with a high sugar content to do this. If you need the wiring harness it is part #311235-401. If you need any further assistance let me know.

I took the liberty of finding a website for you that has the wiring harness. If you follow this link and enter the part #, scroll down you will see the wiring harness. http://americanhvacparts.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?

Good luck
Rusty

Last edited by #CARRIERMAN; 11-24-2006 at 02:56 PM. Reason: Added Information
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inducer installation / modification ... caseywa HVAC 26 12-06-2010 02:50 PM
No flow to shower head; toilet runs constantly kathleentsy Plumbing 7 05-17-2007 10:05 AM
Inducer motors on Bryant 350AAV Rookietinner HVAC 1 02-18-2007 04:38 PM
Another Bryant 383KVA with code 31 problems rpgIVguru HVAC 1 02-05-2007 02:47 PM
bryant furnace will not light somany?'s HVAC 16 11-29-2006 09:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts