Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-30-2010, 09:19 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Bryant furnace won't light, not HSI


My furnace won't light. The HSI glows red and I've cleaned out the burners. The safety switch has been reset but the furnace still won't light. Any ideas?

amylynn6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 10:33 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,919
Default

Bryant furnace won't light, not HSI


Gas turned on outside and at the gas valve? Post the model and serial # and pics of it with front door off. Is it Propane or nat. gas?

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 11:13 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Bryant furnace won't light, not HSI


It's a 395CAV024055 nat. gas.

I've checked the safety switch, scrubbed the flame sensor bar with steel wool, cleaned the burners to get rid of any dust and still nothing. Yes, my gas line is open.

Still no heat. Open to ideas!
amylynn6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 11:29 AM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,919
Default

Bryant furnace won't light, not HSI


As soon as the HSI starts to glow check for 24 volts AC on the 2 wires at the gas valve. If none then the circuit board may be bad.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 11:56 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Bryant furnace won't light, not HSI


I'm not getting any gas through the pipe into the burners. I can't get the picture to upload and I don't have any testers to check for volts. How could I tell if the box that the gas flows through is bad?
amylynn6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 12:23 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,919
Default

Bryant furnace won't light, not HSI


You need a voltage meter to do that. Buy a reasonably good $30 and up one from Sears. The cheaper ones are not reliable, you get what you pay for.

http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_03482139000P
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 10-30-2010 at 12:25 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 06:06 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Bryant furnace won't light, not HSI


Still no volt meter but one other tidbit of information. A few weeks ago I started my furnace and it fired and heated fine. Then I turned off the furnace. Yesterday when I started the furnace, there was no ignition. Any other ideas? Thank you for your help!
amylynn6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 06:18 PM   #8
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Bryant furnace won't light, not HSI


Like Yuri said, You have to have a vm to check these furnaces so, you'll know where problems are
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 10:07 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 82
Default

Bryant furnace won't light, not HSI


Does the furnace shut off at some point for good and have a blink code? If so, what is the blink code and what does it reference to?

I had the same issue with an ignition blink code on my bryant, first think I scrubbed the sensor, listened for the gas valve to open and of course the smell test, and then seen my HSI was cracked.

If you have a blink code, it usually tells you what to look for.

DAdams982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
Bryant 355MAV furnace Beaumont General DIY Discussions 8 10-22-2010 07:27 AM
bryant gas furnace burner wont stay on. pipebender HVAC 29 11-08-2009 07:41 PM
Pilot Light works once, then have to re-light after furnace goes off aransas42 HVAC 8 09-30-2009 07:49 AM
Furnace won't light Babybird HVAC 2 03-30-2007 09:48 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.