Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-21-2010, 05:35 PM   #16
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Share |
Default

Bryant Furnace Troubles


God! I gotta get up to date on this carrier 2stg stuff.....
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 06:14 PM   #17
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,323
Default

Bryant Furnace Troubles


Where ya been living? under a rock. They had that technology since the late 90's. LOL
Attached Thumbnails
Bryant Furnace Troubles-rock06.jpg  
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 06:20 PM   #18
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,323
Default

Bryant Furnace Troubles


Lots of interesting stories with these:http://www.docs.hvacpartners.com/idc.../58tua-9pd.pdf
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 06:38 PM   #19
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Bryant Furnace Troubles


Yuri, Mi is the #2 state in the nation for the number of annual furnace change out.

The majority of the furnaces sold are not Carrier and Lennox. Armstrong, ICP (Arocaaire, Heil, Tempstar) Nordyne(Westinghouse, Gibson, Kelvinator, Tappan,)Ducane, Nordyen, Weathrking, York, Coleman, Luxaire, have the most market share. That's what my market consists of. Don't get me wrong, A two stage VS comes my way I tackle it. It might take a few calla to my friends in the business but it gets done. I hate getting parts for the things cause what I pay for a Carrier part varies with who is at the counter.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 06:50 PM   #20
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,323
Default

Bryant Furnace Troubles


It is getting so complicated and high tech that VERY VERY few DIYers and unskilled techs will ever figure out the new mod furnaces or even the ECM drive units. You can change every single part in a G71 or SLP and w/o knowing how it really works (off draft/vacuum) be able to figure it out. I may have to live on to 75 as a consultant with the way the young guys are learnin.

Guess I am going to have the same problem if I buy one of them new fangled Ford Escapes with speed sensitive steering Yada yada yada
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by yuri; 09-21-2010 at 06:52 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 06:53 PM   #21
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Default

Bryant Furnace Troubles


Some of these guys coming out of tech schools almost sound like they think if they get their NATE card. They can fix anything just by pulling it out.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 07:00 PM   #22
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,323
Default

Bryant Furnace Troubles


Yep, first thing they do is buy the most expensive Fluke testers, digital superheat gauges etc etc. Blind leading the blind. Can't blame the schools though. No way they can teach them about undersized/oversized/mismatched systems/undersized ductwork/venting problems etc etc.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 07:02 PM   #23
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Bryant Furnace Troubles


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
some of these guys coming out of tech schools almost sound like they think if they get their nate card. They can fix anything just by pulling it out.
nate????

Aaaarrrgggghhh
don't get me started on that money grubbing organization!!!!
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 07:08 PM   #24
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Bryant Furnace Troubles


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Yep, first thing they do is buy the most expensive Fluke testers, digital superheat gauges etc etc. Blind leading the blind. Can't blame the schools though. No way they can teach them about undersized/oversized/mismatched systems/undersized ductwork/venting problems etc etc.

Go into a class and try to get across the text book definition to relative humidity.


You'll hear crickets chirping.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 07:10 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Bryant Furnace Troubles


Yuri:
Dumb question but I gotta ask.Is there any damage that could be done to the furnace unit if it only runs in low heat and never goes to high heat? Over time that is.
Thanks again.
Basics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 07:14 PM   #26
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Default

Bryant Furnace Troubles


We're gonna grade you on your answer Yuri.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 07:16 PM   #27
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,323
Default

Bryant Furnace Troubles


Not really. It adjusts the blower and inducer fan speed to give you the proper temp rise/combustion. Read the manual in:http://www.docs.hvacpartners.com/idc...i355b-40-3.pdf
page 49 it has the meter clocking method so you can check to see if it is in high fire that way instead of probing with your meter. Have not had problems with them not switching stages. It will average the cycles so you never really know when that time point is. A 2 stage tstat (need another wire) is more accurate and responsive. DIP switches need changing on the board if you have one of them installed.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by yuri; 09-21-2010 at 07:29 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 07:18 PM   #28
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,323
Default

Bryant Furnace Troubles


We can get into a steady state combustion discussion but my old head aches now.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 07:27 PM   #29
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Bryant Furnace Troubles


I'll give an A

without knowing the heat value & I used this method of clocking & it works.. 3600 x dial size ( hand on the meter) divided by seconds per revolution .. This is with no other gas appliances in operation
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 07:31 PM   #30
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Default

Bryant Furnace Troubles


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
We can get into a steady state combustion discussion but my old head aches now.
All the furnaces I checked or set up this last week with my CA were at 87% efficiency.

My oxygen sensor died.

I had to use a back up CA. It doesn't respond as fast as mine. So I would use mine first for diagnostics, and then the back up to fine tune.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Furnace main burner goes out after 5 seconds Da_Bears HVAC 8 01-03-2012 01:24 AM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
first time startup on Bryant furnace - furnace calls for heat and will not stop luvheat HVAC 22 02-14-2009 08:56 AM
Bryant +80 Gas Furnace won't light tr0910 HVAC 4 01-14-2009 07:11 AM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.