Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2013, 06:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bryant Furnace Repair Opinions Needed


I recently replaced a Hot Surface Ignitor on my Bryant Induced Combustion Gas Furnace with electronic ignition, that was manufactured in 2002. Unfortunately, the spacing distance of the 2 wires in relation to the bracket was not the same as the old ignitor. As a result, one wire came in close contact with the bracket after installation and when the furnace was activated, there was a pop, spark, followed by a system shut down. Red LED is in continuous blink mode. Blower motor works but nothing else. Is it possible I blew the circuit control board?


Last edited by Mitch3306; 10-02-2013 at 07:13 PM.
Mitch3306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 10:32 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,597
Rewards Points: 2,332
Default

Bryant Furnace Repair Opinions Needed


Yep, one of my apprentices did the same thing.

Sorry.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
Mitch3306 (10-02-2013)
Old 10-02-2013, 11:05 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bryant Furnace Repair Opinions Needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Yep, one of my apprentices did the same thing.

Sorry.
It is possible that the new hot surface igniter is still good though? Element is still intact.
Mitch3306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 11:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Bryant Furnace Repair Opinions Needed


that is quite possible...
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 08:09 AM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,597
Rewards Points: 2,332
Default

Bryant Furnace Repair Opinions Needed


use an ohm meter 2 check it. should be around 50-60 ohms.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 10-03-2013 at 08:51 AM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Natural Gas Cost For Furnace 1 Hour Run Time hammerlane HVAC 15 11-11-2013 10:34 AM
16-year old Bryant Plus-90 furnace phillip9 HVAC 5 03-05-2013 01:11 PM
Bryant Furnace main burner goes out after 5 seconds Da_Bears HVAC 8 01-03-2012 01:24 AM
Bryant 350MAV Furnace Code 31 Failure maq0 HVAC 0 10-10-2011 02:07 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.