Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-11-2013, 04:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Bryant Furnace Pressure Switch Problem


Hi All,

I have a problem with my home furnace I'm hoping someone can help me with. It's a Bryant 340MAV 036080, about 12 years old. It's not given any problems since I've been here until now.

We had a large snow storm a couple days ago, and when blowing the slow I inadvertently covered the inlet pipe. No big deal I figured, and cleared out the area around it, and made sure it wasn't plugged. Later that day I realized there was no warm air coming.

I check the furnace and had a code 31, indicating a pressure switch malfunction. I figured some snow got into the pipe, so I put a space heater in the area over night. No luck the next morning. The pressure switch is a differential switch, and in playing I realized if I disconnected the end going to the combustion chamber plenum, it would switch. So my furnace ran lots and I was hoping if it was snow related it would clear itself out. But no luck. I hook up the tube to the plenum the differential pressure drops just enough to open the switch. I check the pressure with a manometer and I have about 1"WC, and I think I should be closer to 1.8 or 2" WC.

Anyone have any suggestions on what might be wrong? Any good ideas on how to check the entire length of the exhaust piping? The only thing I'm left thinking is that something is partially blocking that.

Thoughts?

dmichel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 04:40 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,509
Default

Bryant Furnace Pressure Switch Problem


Shop vac. Turn off furnace. Then connect/place exhaust of shop vac to blow into intake pipe. let it run for 10 minutes or so. Then switch it to vacuum, and see if it draws out any water. Intakes aren't always slanted enough for water to drain out of them.

Might want to also vacuum the exhaust pipe.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 04:49 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Bryant Furnace Pressure Switch Problem


Thanks for the advice, the more I'm thinking about it the more I'm thinking something is blocking the exhaust. And I have a year old who likes put stones down holes......damn, now to figure out how to get them out.
dmichel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 04:59 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,008
Default

Bryant Furnace Pressure Switch Problem


Carefully use a hair dryer or paint stripper heat gun and blow heat in while it is trying to run works also. Not likely the kid put stones in if it hapened during the snow storm but you never know. Does it have a concentric vent kit, pipe inside pipe like this pic. If so the air goes in the back and you may need to pull the hood off and get in there as the ice can be in a foot or two. I have seen them recirculate the exhaust into the intake and get 3 feet of ice in there. The inlet can also get leaves/spiders webs in there. Most of those furnaces have a screen where the intake pipe attaches to the burner box that may have debris in it. Trick is to get at that screen.
Attached Images
 
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 02-11-2013 at 05:05 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 06:49 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Bryant Furnace Pressure Switch Problem


Thanks for the reply. Sure it enough it was rocks in the exhaust pipe. My son must have shoved them in there in the summer, and it was just borderline creating enough backpressure. The storm was a coincidence I believe. I had the cut off the pipe outside, but at least its working. Now to repair that!
dmichel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 07:51 PM   #6
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,453
Default

Bryant Furnace Pressure Switch Problem


I used a leaf blower. Blew the heck out of those pipes. Hooked back up after cutting with 3 inch fernco couplings.
__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 03:43 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 298
Default

Bryant Furnace Pressure Switch Problem


as a kid, we had an in the wall vacuum system. I found that a flashlight and a matchbox car,was way to much fun to watch as the cars disapeared into the wall.

dad didnt think it so fun when the vacuum repair guy found about 2 dozen hot wheels in the pipe systems... got my pants dusted off good for that one!!!!!!

bob in phx.

bobinphx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil DC90 Furnace Vaccuum switch problem? srt HVAC 10 11-05-2012 03:34 PM
Bryant 350MAV Furnace Code 31 Failure maq0 HVAC 0 10-10-2011 02:07 AM
Heil Gas Furnace Ultimate II - High Limit Switch Triggering Problem hiei5 HVAC 11 07-24-2011 12:23 PM
Open pressure switch on furnace Dale0202 HVAC 4 01-26-2011 10:35 PM
No Heat: Pressure switch & Hoses forming traps Yooperman906 HVAC 22 01-04-2011 09:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.