Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2013, 10:45 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Bryant furnace 340series code 13/33


Hello, My furnace keeps flashing codes 13/33 limit lockout. I checked for a restriction and found rocks and mulch in the pvc piping so I cleaned it out and it ran 1 cycle without code then started flashing code again so I cleaned the flame rod and it did the same thing 1 cycle then code. I checked the rollout it's not tripped. What could be the problem?


Last edited by Pound; 11-09-2013 at 10:49 AM.
Pound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 11:06 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,621
Rewards Points: 2,380
Default

Bryant furnace 340series code 13/33


where the intake pvc pipe attaches to the burner box there usually is a screen inside there and it may be plugged. have to remove the pipe from that plastic box and get inside to see the screen, not easy. if you have to cut the pipe then recouple it with a rubber MJ plumbing coupling which has 2 gear clamps on it. safe to use on the intake side. usually the pipe slips in a fitting on the burner box and they jam a screw in it and don't usually glue it on.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 11:13 AM   #3
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,047
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Bryant furnace 340series code 13/33


Rocks!!?? Wow.... Maybe a critter issue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pound View Post
Hello, My furnace keeps flashing codes 13/33 limit lockout. I checked for a restriction and found rocks and mulch in the pvc piping so I cleaned it out and it ran 1 cycle without code then started flashing code again so I cleaned the flame rod and it did the same thing 1 cycle then code. I checked the rollout it's not tripped. What could be the problem?
__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 11:24 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bryant furnace 340series code 13/33


Thanks for your response Yuri. I will check that when I get back home and let you know. My son has a bball game.
Pound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 11:28 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bryant furnace 340series code 13/33


Thanks Raylo 32. Didn't see any critters when I checked piping nor do I have a foul odor in the house.
Pound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 11:34 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bryant furnace 340series code 13/33


Could it be my condensate pump?
Pound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 04:09 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,561
Rewards Points: 2,802
Default

Bryant furnace 340series code 13/33


Check air filter. May also have a dirty evp coil preventing proper air flow.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 06:06 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,437
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

Bryant furnace 340series code 13/33


agree with beenthere limit lockout would suggest air flow problem,,filter, clogged a/c coil something is preventing full air flow ..maybe something with blower also....ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 06:26 PM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,621
Rewards Points: 2,380
Default

Bryant furnace 340series code 13/33


air temp limit won't lockout and give that code unless it failed completely. that code will autoreset in 3 hrs and by then the limit is cooled down and reset. he said the rollout is not tripping so that is a strange scenario he has there. lack of comb air will cause it to run too hot but then again it will trip the rollout and because he had some crap in the intake it looks suspicious some got further downstream. or the board is going bad and locking out when the limit trips. would have to see it in action myself.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 11-09-2013 at 06:30 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (11-10-2013)
Old 11-10-2013, 02:35 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bryant furnace 340series code 13/33


Hello guys I came back from the game and went to the furnace & the same code was flashing again. I then took my pvc pipe off from the inducer motor exhaust and it ran with no problem. Could it be my inducer motor going bad?
Pound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 05:50 AM   #11
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,047
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Bryant furnace 340series code 13/33


Are you sure that pipe is clear? Also, with the door open intake air comes from the room and bypasses the intake pipe. Are you sure that pipe is clear?
__________________
Live long and prosper.

Last edited by raylo32; 11-10-2013 at 05:53 AM.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to raylo32 For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (11-10-2013)
Old 11-10-2013, 07:35 AM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,561
Rewards Points: 2,802
Default

Bryant furnace 340series code 13/33


Or a restriction in the pipe.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (11-10-2013), hvactech126 (11-10-2013)
Old 11-10-2013, 08:01 AM   #13
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Bryant furnace 340series code 13/33


make sure the pipe is properly sloped (1/4" per foot) from the termination to the furnace.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvactech126 For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (11-10-2013)
Old 11-10-2013, 08:25 AM   #14
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,621
Rewards Points: 2,380
Default

Bryant furnace 340series code 13/33


you cannot run it with the exhaust off or fumes will go in the house. is it the intake you removed? normally you would get a pressure switch tripping error code if it had a blockage, not sure what is going on with yours. board may be going bad and giving false codes. post some pics of it with both doors off so we can see exactly which model you have. also outside where the vent pipes are is there anything which can cause the exhaust to recirculate back into the intake? wood, camper etc? post pics of them. click Go Advanced/manage attachments and go from there to post pics

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 11-10-2013 at 08:33 AM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Furnace Pressure Switch Problem dmichel HVAC 6 02-12-2013 03:43 PM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
Bryant Plus 90 Code 31 ~kirkland~ HVAC 1 03-08-2011 06:14 PM
Another Bryant 383KVA with code 31 problems rpgIVguru HVAC 1 02-05-2007 01:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.