Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-28-2010, 06:58 PM   #1

Share |

Bryant Condensor

My daughter's townhome has a Bryant condensing unit model 561CJ036-F.
When the thermostat calls for cooling the fan starts immediately followed by a delayed compressor start which I think is normal. Problem is the compressor tries to start several times before actually running correctly. The air filter is new and the condenser coils are clean. Once it's running it cools just fine with suction line being cold and sweating. Was wondering if it might have a weak capacitor causing the multiple start attempts. Would appreciate any suggesting you can offer. I have some limited experience in HVAC from years past but wanted to hear input from current Professionals before going over there to check things. I do have a set of guages if you think there may be a refrigerant charge issue here. It's an R22 system. Thanks for your help.

kb3ca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 07:02 PM   #2
Hvac Pro

Bryant Condensor

If the suction line is cold and sweating it is not likely low on freon. The capacitor may be weak and you need a multimeter that has that feature built in to it, not all do. Sears has some reasonably priced meters. Check the contacts in the contactor to see if they are burnt or loose or in bad shape.

Old 06-30-2010, 08:11 PM   #3

Bryant Condensor