Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-26-2009, 09:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Bryant/Carrier Start Relay


Last year my Bryant ACís contactor started sparking / chattering and eventually burned out. While inspecting it, Iíve also noticed a leaked start capacitor, so figuring it was the culprit, Iíve replaced them both and the AC ran fine for a few months until the fall. This year the new contactor is at it again Ė sparks and keeps failing to hold (but eventually does after a dozen of intermittent tries). This time I figured I should go for a start relay / capacitor combo, but trouble is Ė I canít find this specific relay anywhere. Carrier part # is HN61HB540 (GEís 3ARR3BL3P5), but when I search for it online I only come across PDFs referencing some KSAHS ďstart capacitor/ relay kitsĒ, but nobodyís actually selling them, nor separate relays. Can a Carrier/Bryant expert please recommend a substitute?
Any tips will be greatly appreciated!
neWave

neWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 10:05 PM   #2
as seen on tv
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 205
Default

Bryant/Carrier Start Relay


If the contacter is chattering sounds like you have a voltage drop somewhere in the line. High pressure or low pressure switch bare low voltage line. I would think the parts you are replacing is just the end result of the underlying problem.

qbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 01:27 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Bryant/Carrier Start Relay


So in that case, where would you suggest to look upstream? Could the AC be wired incorrecty, or is it the overall load on the house? Intermittency of this issue is what's most puzzling. Sometimes it starts and runs fine. Sometimes contacter sparks for a few times and then engages. And then sometimes it'll be suffering multiple chatter attacks with periods of inoperable silence inbetween, completely failing to maintain contact.
neWave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 07:36 AM   #4
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Bryant/Carrier Start Relay


Somewhere between the indoor and out door unit the may be a nick or crimp in the control wire.
Could also be a loose connection at the furnace/airhandeler or the the thermostat.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 08:01 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Bryant/Carrier Start Relay


Measure the nominal 240v going into the unit right at the unit; if it changes more than 3% or 5% between the unit running normally and when the unit is switched off there is a high resistance upstream.
How long of what size alum. or copper wire runs to the unit?

Last edited by Yoyizit; 07-27-2009 at 08:05 AM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Well pump noisy, tripping overload. lennyjay Electrical 2 07-07-2009 10:47 AM
Brand new PAYNE PG9MAB won't start . Error code 12 tp618 HVAC 3 12-19-2008 09:21 PM
Blue smoke at start up, and shudder at idle fauer Automotive Repairs 6 08-22-2008 11:39 AM
newbie...relay problems jfabes Electrical 11 05-06-2008 04:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.