Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-02-2007, 09:25 AM   #1
DMG
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Bryant A/C seems to run slow


Hello,
I have a 11 year old Bryant A/C unit that quit cooling the house. Checked the cond. and fan, could hear the cond. clicking. Had to start the fan by hand, and cond. started running. Ran for about 5 min. and shut down. But it wasnt the normal shut down. After 5 more min. the cond. clicks nothing runs, does this for about 6 times at one min. intervals. After that the cond. clicks and wants the fan to start running, which can only start by hand. Another 5 min. and shuts down again. When it does run it seems like its running slower than it should like its lagging. It did cool when it was runnig though. I was told it was the fan motor but replaced that and the same problem exists. Any help would be Greatly appreciated!


Last edited by DMG; 07-02-2007 at 09:29 AM.
DMG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 05:20 PM   #2
Union HVAC Tech.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Bryant A/C seems to run slow


If you changed the fan motor I hope it was with one of the same specs as the original and that if it is a reversable motor that it is running in the right direction. If it isn't turning on it's own when power is applied look at the capacitor, in that units it is most likely a dual cap that handles the fan motor and the compressor. The old fan motor may not have been bad, just the cap.

bigMikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 04:17 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Bryant A/C seems to run slow


Ditto on the previous.

Just because the fan doesn't come on, too many home owner/DIY ers jump to conclusion and replace the motor.

Our business sells a lot of motors and hear the aforementioned situation. And we won't take a return on electrical components. I

t could be a bad capacitor, it could be a a voltage problem. An even then if those are okay, was it supposed to be an 825 or 1075 or 1100 rpm motor. A capacitor should always be replaced when replacing the motor or compressor. If you don't have the meter to test a capacitor, replace it with a new one and see if that helps the motor. Or call a pro and he'll have a meter...or should.

The a/c condenser motor is almost always a 220 VAC motor. I've seen a couple of 120 volt motors in condensers that look like new and the homeowner is stupid enough to play dumb and say it's the same one that's been in since it was new.


Go Buckeyes
Buckeyetech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 10:29 PM   #4
Mechanical Contractor
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 115
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Bryant A/C seems to run slow


The systematic clicking you hear is either thermal compressor overloads cycling or more likey the high pressure switch cutting in and out because the condenser fan isn't running. And I totally agree you need to change the capacitors and make sure the motor is an exact replacement.
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 10:39 PM   #5
DMG
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Bryant A/C seems to run slow


Thanks to all
It was the capacitor. $22 dollars and I'm back in business.
Thanks again,
DMG
DMG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leaking Condenation Trap - Bryant falcon HVAC 9 04-01-2009 06:17 PM
Inducer motors on Bryant 350AAV Rookietinner HVAC 1 02-18-2007 03:38 PM
Another Bryant 383KVA with code 31 problems rpgIVguru HVAC 1 02-05-2007 01:47 PM
Bryant 90% Iducer ? Rookietinner HVAC 11 01-09-2007 07:21 PM
Bryant Inducer Fan Runs Constantly biglittledan HVAC 4 11-24-2006 11:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.