Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-30-2011, 09:23 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Angry

bryant 90+ furance


i tried turn on my furnace and the pilot light comes on but it wont kick on. i dont know where to start. its a bryant 90+ it's an 80's model i think i'm just a truck driver dont know much about furnaces


Last edited by Nummy; 10-30-2011 at 11:06 AM.
Nummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 11:12 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Default

bryant 90+ furance


i tried turn on my furnace and the pilot light comes on but it wont kick on. i dont know where to start. its a bryant 90+ it's an 80's model i think i'm just a truck driver dont know much about furnaces[/quote]

Nummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 12:52 PM   #3
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 0
Default

bryant 90+ furance


take a piece of steel wool or sand paper and rub the sensing probe the flame is hitting...that checks the pilot and tell the gas valve flame is present to open....is that a spark ignition pilot or standing ...somebody else might kick in here...
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 01:20 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Default

bryant 90+ furance


thanks i'll give that a try. it has an electronic igniter for pilot that comes on but burners won't and i don't know when the blower moter is suppost to come on hopefully after the burners do that makes the most sence to me
Nummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 01:39 PM   #5
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 0
Default

bryant 90+ furance


if you have a solid state board with in the furnace it might work on a time delay instead of a metal disc that senses the heat build up within the heat exchanger then the fan comes on ....cycle goes last on and goes off last when the stat is satisfied....that sensor the pilot hits has to see heat or the main gas sits with no 24V signal to open.... everything in a furnace is a action then a reaction during the cycle i'll check back to see if you heating or not
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 03:05 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Default

bryant 90+ furance


well i tryed to clean the sensor on the pilot light box it's on the bottom? it's a little box with three wire coming out of it and put everything back together now i don't have a pilot light any more. it doesn't have a switch on the t stat so i can't turn the fan on to know if that works it's just a furnace no a/c i think it has a board but it doesn't have the flashing lights to give you codes if you have a problem. the fuse on the outside old buss screw in kind and the car style fuse inside appear to still be good i'll check back later 2day thanks for the help i don't have a clue when it comes to these not working. oh has new filter and it did have a bees nest it outside air inlet but that didn't seem to make a difference thanks again
Nummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 03:07 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Default

bryant 90+ furance


oh i did find what looks like a giant watch battery that goes inside the furnace with 2 wires coming off of it, it looks like new
Nummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 07:54 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 449
Rewards Points: 0
Default

bryant 90+ furance


Video on how to clean flame sensor (with 1 wire). If you 'cleaned' something else, like a glow plug, and touched with your fingers (or worse, cleaned), you may have ruined it.

diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 02:09 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Default

bryant 90+ furance


okay i don't have one of those in mine. what i took out and cleaned is the pilot light housing hase a wire like in a grill that sparks. i took that whole thing out and cleaned it and reinstalled then lost my pilot light in the process but it still sparks. its like its not getting gas now. i'm thinking it either the mother board or the box inside the furnace that the gas runs thru with the wires going to it. but i don't know how to find out

Nummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant 355MAV furnace and A/C blower not starting rajar2 HVAC 31 02-01-2014 12:03 PM
Bryant Warranteed heat exchangers issues TruckTahoe HVAC 0 02-14-2011 02:21 PM
first time startup on Bryant furnace - furnace calls for heat and will not stop luvheat HVAC 22 02-14-2009 08:56 AM
Old bryant Payne furance problem adman77 HVAC 32 01-30-2009 09:42 PM
Ventless gas fireplace vs. Home furance Dougit General DIY Discussions 6 01-05-2008 04:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.