Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2010, 11:12 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Bryant 394D-0036100


I need some help guy's I have a old Bryant Heater. My pilot light is lit and working in the on position, blower motor running, the problem is that when the system is running the Baffles never light up. Do I need to take them out and clean them , or is it the pilot positioning. Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Bryant 394D-0036100-snc00089.jpg   Bryant 394D-0036100-snc00090.jpg   Bryant 394D-0036100-snc00091.jpg  


Last edited by bullmastiff135; 10-07-2010 at 11:56 AM. Reason: need help
bullmastiff135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 03:41 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Bryant 394D-0036100


Make sure you have 24 v at the valve.. I would have that furnace checked. It was bad design.. Crack / rusted out heat exchanger/ rusted up burners. Also check that limit that is in the chamber just behind the gv ( brown almost square with 2 wires). could be open due to cracked chamber


Last edited by kenmac; 10-07-2010 at 03:43 PM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 03:59 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Bryant 394D-0036100


Tonight I will look at the stuff you said to look at. I got a PDF of this unit I hope that it will help Thanks
bullmastiff135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:00 PM   #4
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Bryant 394D-0036100


I can't tell from the pic. That unit could also have the old carrier/bryant bi metal pilot that sends voltage to the g v. Are there any wires that come from the pilot assy ?
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:29 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Bryant 394D-0036100


yes there are two wires on the pilot light
bullmastiff135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 06:16 PM   #6
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Bryant 394D-0036100


pilot not hot enough to bend the metal or bad pilot assy

I think you may have this type pilot




Last edited by kenmac; 10-07-2010 at 06:21 PM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 07:22 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Bryant 394D-0036100


Thanks for the help !!!! I looked at the furnace and the looks like the pilot in the system, any idea on removing to clean it or just replace it, could this be the problem?????

Thanks
bullmastiff135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 08:13 PM   #8
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Bryant 394D-0036100


The 1 in the pic is 3 wire. 1 is used for an ignitor that came on some of those furnaces. You would only use 2 wires. To remove you may have to remove the burner it's bolted to. You may be able to clean the old 1 if you can get the orifice out without damaging it I will repete.. Have that Furnace checked by a PRO B-4 using it for bad HEAT EXCHANGER
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 08:44 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Bryant 394D-0036100


Thanks for the reply It has two wires and the gas line going to it, do you think this is the problem???? and should I just stop and have a pro fix it
bullmastiff135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 01:01 PM   #10
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Bryant 394D-0036100


I would say that's the problem.. If it's never been cleaned or replaced.. You can check it with volt meter. You will have 24 v on 1 wire & 0 volts on the other if pilot switch isn't made up. If your comfortable with it, you can jump out the 2 wires & make the furnace come on if that pilot is bad.. Even if you make repaire yourself . Still have a pro check the heat exchanger. As I said b-4.. that wasn't a very good design heat exchanger.. Cracks / holes
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 05:13 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Bryant 394D-0036100


Thanks again I will try to jump Saturday and I hope that is the problem so when I call the pro they cant lie to me about it. And thanks you for all your help

bullmastiff135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant 355MAV furnace and A/C blower not starting rajar2 HVAC 31 02-01-2014 12:03 PM
payne heat pump with older bryant fan coil macmichael HVAC 6 11-04-2009 06:23 PM
first time startup on Bryant furnace - furnace calls for heat and will not stop luvheat HVAC 22 02-14-2009 08:56 AM
Bryant Evolution Thermostat: Installation & Programming NickE1963 HVAC 6 01-27-2009 03:57 PM
Bryant Furnace Blower Running Constantly GhostBuster HVAC 15 11-30-2008 09:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.