Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-19-2010, 10:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bryant 3 wire pilot won't hold


I have a Bryant 376BAW036075 that the burners won't ignite. It is a 1989 vintage furnace. This is what is happening.

1. thermostat calls for heat
2. inducer motor comes on
3. ignitor starts to spark
4. pilot ignites and burns and then it extinguishes
5. ignitor sparks
6. pilot ignites and burns and then extinguishes
7. Main burner valve never opens

This sequence continues indefinetly. I have replaced the three wire pilot and the gas valve and also the inducer motor control board. Nothing I do changes the above sequence.

janibre1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 10:41 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Bryant 3 wire pilot won't hold


sounds like it's not proving pilot flame. If it doesn't prove pilot. It won't open main valve & pilot will go out


Last edited by kenmac; 10-19-2010 at 10:44 PM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 10:47 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bryant 3 wire pilot won't hold


The pilot is proving, but the pilot won't hold and it extinguishes when the main burner valve is suppose to open. If it was just a matter of the pilot not proving why would the pilot go out if the call for heat was never broken?
janibre1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 10:51 PM   #4
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Bryant 3 wire pilot won't hold


That's why the pilot goes out. Some of the older furnaces proved the pilot was lit by the ignitor/ spark rod. Do you have a seprate sensing rod ?
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 10:53 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bryant 3 wire pilot won't hold


No, there is not a seperate sensing rod.
janibre1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 10:56 PM   #6
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Bryant 3 wire pilot won't hold


Ok, then it senses through the ignitor rod & it isn't proving pilot flame shutting down pilot gas. then, it will re-try, still doesn't sense pilot flame & shtus pilot gas off again. It will do this over & over

Last edited by kenmac; 10-19-2010 at 10:58 PM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 11:02 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bryant 3 wire pilot won't hold


I thought that it sensed the flame through a warp switch that is built into the pilot assembly. The only wire that goes to the electrode looks like a spark plug wire and it connects to the ignitor module.
janibre1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 11:07 PM   #8
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Bryant 3 wire pilot won't hold


It does have a bi metal switch in the pilot . When it gets hot enough it makes up and applies 24v to the gv. but if it goes out b-4 it gets hot enough to make the connection it won't open the gv. It senses flame back through the plug wire. The sensor wire or the board is bad. You might try to clean the sensor or the wire where it connects to the board
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 11:13 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bryant 3 wire pilot won't hold


I see I didn't mention it before but a also tried to replace the ignitor board and it didn't help. I suppose that the electrode wire might be defective even though it passes a spark throught it. I can try a new one tomorrow.
janibre1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 07:56 AM   #10
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Bryant 3 wire pilot won't hold


All you have to do is replace ignitor rod & wire & you have a new furnace.

at 21 yrs old . I would have replaced the furnace
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:37 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Bryant 3 wire pilot won't hold


Poor people have poor ways. The customer say's they can't afford a new furnace otherwise it would have been a gonner.
janibre1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:43 PM   #12
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Bryant 3 wire pilot won't hold


Quote:
Originally Posted by janibre1 View Post
Poor people have poor ways. The customer say's they can't afford a new furnace otherwise it would have been a gonner.

they have already spent alot of $ in parts alone. I would check the heat exchanger real close for cracks/ holes

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bryant, three wire pilot


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Older Carrier Pilot Burner Problem cliffkot HVAC 23 04-29-2011 06:58 PM
HVAC three wire motor to six wire motor Leo Caproni HVAC 5 10-18-2010 02:23 PM
Carrier/Bryant/Payne 3 wire gas pilot assy 1991 furnace GBG HVAC 14 09-24-2010 07:10 PM
20A Breaker, 14 gauge wire? joside Electrical 12 08-25-2010 10:41 AM
Resource for understanding gas valve? darsunt HVAC 19 02-04-2009 12:08 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.