Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2009, 10:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

"Broken" Heat pump


Question "Carrier Heat Pump"
We have 2 Infinity Heat pumps, one for upstairs one downstairs. New construction units just turned on 3 weeks ago.( house not complete yet). They worked fine as we allowed them to run 24 hrs. to check them out. Turned them off. Yesterday we noticed that the thermostat (1st. floor) was not light up. Pushed on and nothing, checked breakers all ok. Decided to check 2nd. floor unit, turned on it would heat but no air coming from vents. The air handler for this one is in attic. The temp. in house was 78 so I pushed the thermo up to about 83 to try and get the blower to come on, nothing ONLY the thermo showed that the auxiliary heat was on. It was 66 out side, should the auxillary come on when it is warm out side?

I am going to call Carrier and have a Tech. come out BUT any idea what could have happened to them. They were tuned off as no need to run up electric bill in a house not yet complete. I though the thermostat would tell me problem but I don't know if it is hooked up right as it did not tell me of a problem. NO Lighting storms or power surges that we know of. How can something break just siting there. We would like to do some checking befor the HVAC man comes.

Thank you in adance

kinnakeeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 05:17 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,515
Rewards Points: 2,710
Default

"Broken" Heat pump


Carrier won't send a service tech out. Carrier didn't install them, did they?

You'll have to call the installing contractor( Your carrier dealer ).
That is who provides the first year labor warranty.

Might have sucked in a lot of construction dust/dirt.
Someone might have ran a screw or nail throught the control wiring, etc.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 06:09 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

"Broken" Heat pump


Thank you "beenthere" No workers in the house since units were turned on except my daughter and I doing painting. All construction dust had been vacuumed out of vents. I did not word my first post correctly, I am having the installed come back, but did find a number on the carrier site for trouble shooting. Big mystery of how something could go ka-punk just siting doing nothing.
kinnakeeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 06:16 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

"Broken" Heat pump


"BeenThere" I noticed that you are a HVAC Professional, Does Carrier give you free labor and parts for the first year. Should The Infinity Thermostat show why the fans (Air handler) did not come on.
kinnakeeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 06:22 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,515
Rewards Points: 2,710
Default

"Broken" Heat pump


Carrier doesn't provide any labor warranty(with one or 2 minor exceptions).
The installing contactor does that.

Parts warranty on Infinity should be 5 years all parts, 10 years compressor.
You shoud be able to purchase the extended parts and labor warranty. Its a good thing to do with an Infinity system.

The Infinity controller can show faults.
But the fault it shows. may not be the cause of the problem. It could be a symptom of another problem.

EG: HP switch open.

Several things can cause that switch to open. So the switch is not the cause, just the fault the controller shows.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 04:17 PM   #6
Member
 
sktn77a's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 260
Rewards Points: 250
Default

"Broken" Heat pump


Yes, if you push up the thermostat 5 degrees higher than the current temperature, it thinks the heatpump isn't able to keep the temp at the setpoint so it turns on the aux heat. Some smarter thermostats can avoid this to some extent (eg after a setback) but manually cranking up the temp is a good way to check if the backup strips are coming on
sktn77a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 10:52 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

"Broken" Heat pump


Found answer to one of the problems. The unit that was totally dead. It was the Infinity Thermostat. Thought I would post this just in case any one else has a problem with the heat pump going out. The thermostat has a fuse in it so it could be the fuse but the thermostat was the casue.

kinnakeeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to test apartment Heat Pump tbrubes HVAC 7 02-04-2009 03:05 PM
Heat Pump Woes Zenica HVAC 50 01-27-2009 07:37 AM
Heat Pump vs Aux Electric Heat batolson HVAC 16 01-17-2009 10:28 AM
Testing FuelMaster 21 Module? Heat Pump no Run. thehotrod11 HVAC 3 12-29-2007 02:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.