Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-29-2006, 06:31 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 28
Share |
Default

Breaker tripped again


Yikes, now I'm really confused.Replaced the Capacitor for the blower motor and furnace ran fine all day yesterday thru many cycles.This morning comming out of setback at 7am I heard the furnace click on then stop. Yep breaker tripped agian.Reset breaker now its working fine again,can't get it to trip now. So I'm assuming if it sits idle for 8hrs like last night(set point was at 19C and temp never got below 20C)and the motor has cooled down thats when it draws to much current to get going.Could it be anything else?

rookie50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 08:11 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Default

Breaker tripped again


Does this breaker supply power to any other circuits?

redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 08:39 AM   #3
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Default

Breaker tripped again


Hi rookie50

Most breakers are made to cycle only about twelve times before the tension bar is shot. I would say if the motor amperage is not shooting off the scale, the breaker itself is shot from tripping all these times.

Rusty
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 09:10 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 28
Default

Breaker tripped again


Quote:
Originally Posted by #CARRIERMAN View Post
Hi rookie50

Most breakers are made to cycle only about twelve times before the tension bar is shot. I would say if the motor amperage is not shooting off the scale, the breaker itself is shot from tripping all these times.

Rusty
square D breaker never had any problems with them. Anyway first one tripped twice so I replaced it. This replacement has now tripped twice.
I doubt the breaker is the problem. A 16 year old motor, well maybe its time has come and gone, this could be early sign of failure.It seems to be happening after a long period where the motor hasn't run.
rookie50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 09:30 AM   #5
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Default

Breaker tripped again


Hi rookie50

I am betting you are probably right, if you got 16 years out of a motor. Give it a gracefull burial.

Rusty
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 09:58 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 28
Default

Breaker tripped again


Quote:
Originally Posted by #CARRIERMAN View Post
Hi rookie50

I am betting you are probably right, if you got 16 years out of a motor. Give it a gracefull burial.

Rusty
Yes I will put it in the nice new motor box container before tossing.Hehe. Thanks Rusty
rookie50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 01:05 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 28
Default

Breaker tripped again


Quote:
Originally Posted by #CARRIERMAN View Post
Hi rookie50

I am betting you are probably right, if you got 16 years out of a motor. Give it a gracefull burial.

Rusty
Rusty I decided to give motor one more day of life.All my metering says its fine, pulls about 12A for a sec or two then runs about 7A.Even the voltage drop when it kicks in is well within acceptable limits.
So I bought a brand new breaker and will let it go another day. If it again trips then I'll put the new motor in.If it still trips after that then I'll probably go bald. Will let you know the outcome. Thanks.
rookie50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 01:20 PM   #8
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Default

Breaker tripped again


Hi rookie50

If you have to replace the motor, I would reccomend a A/O Smith model # DL1076. We have had excellent service out of these motors.

Good luck
Rusty
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2006, 05:57 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 28
Default

Breaker tripped again


Quote:
Originally Posted by #CARRIERMAN View Post
Hi rookie50

If you have to replace the motor, I would reccomend a A/O Smith model # DL1076. We have had excellent service out of these motors.

Good luck
Rusty
Rusty, hard to believe but third time is a charm. It appears it was the breaker(s) after all. Held off replacing motor and bought a new 15Amp sq D breaker and its be fine now since Thursday.Supplier says he will accept motor return since I hadn't tried to install yet.
Anyway problem solved thanks for your patience and advice!!

rookie50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New GFCI Breaker Tripping w/ 3-way Flourescents BigJimmy Electrical 8 12-29-2008 02:29 PM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 05:55 AM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM
Breaker Buzz SkipI Electrical 2 07-13-2007 07:48 PM
tripped breaker rookie50 HVAC 7 11-28-2006 02:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.