Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-23-2011, 08:14 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

Breaker is not the same size as noted on plate on ac, tripping breaker, thoughts?

Forgive my ignorance with this. I'm not an electrician or ac guy and just want to be sure I know what I'm talking about before I call for repair.

I am in a new house (to me) and I turned on the ac for the first time today. After about 20 min the compressor outside will trip the breaker. The fan inside will keep running. Attached are photos of the plate on the ac outside and my breaker.

Is this tripping because my breaker should be higher? Or is it deeper than that? I assume that if your breaker is too high it could be a fire hazard right?

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Breaker is not the same size as noted on plate on ac, tripping breaker, thoughts?-image-3155168031.jpg  
Attached Images

detyianni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 08:28 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,000

Breaker is not the same size as noted on plate on ac, tripping breaker, thoughts?

Minimum circuit amps 32, max breaker size 50. If the wire is not big enough to handle 50 amps then it wouldn't get that size breaker. That's a fairly old unit so I doubt it has anything to do with the breaker or the old owners would have corrected the issue 16 years ago.

Is the unit clean? Dirty coils add quite a bit of electrical load.

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 08:41 PM   #3

Thanks I am going to check the coils. I forgot to attach a pic of the wire. Here it is..this wire has a date jul 2010 on it. I think it was a requirement of the inspection to change it.

Does seeing this wire change your reply?

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Breaker is not the same size as noted on plate on ac, tripping breaker, thoughts?-image-3976385421.jpg  
Old 05-23-2011, 08:43 PM   #4
Hvac Pro