Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-25-2012, 09:20 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 157
Share |
Default

brazing in a new coil


My brother has a coil that is freezing over, rusted and the unit is low on refrigerant.
I have an oxy/acetylene setup so I was going to attempt to braze on a new coil.

The questions I have are the following:
Do I cut the old coil out with a copper pipe cutter and use a union to put the new coil in?

I was going to run nitrogen through the system while I brazed the coil in.

After the coil is brazed, I am going to fill the system with 150lbs of nitrogen and check for leaks. Then the system would need a vacuum pulled and filled with r22.

Does this sound right?

Thx

Slash
slash5bmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 03:40 AM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,574
Default

brazing in a new coil


just cut the lines as close the the old one clean them up and the couple or slip them into the new coil.new coil might have swedged ends so the exsisting pipes slip in.might want to go with just a turbo torch on the liquid(TXV watch the heat) and stay brite on the suction.it is only 2 connection so you should be tight if you flux and do a nice braze. pipes aren't that big watch the heat..vac and charge then is the follow up
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 05:49 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,139
Default

brazing in a new coil


Stay Brite #8 that's the ticket, been using it for 45 years no leaks except where I F----- up. Good stuff flows low temps and holds 15000#.

I use it on suction and liquid lines. No extra heat, no nitro, no interior flaking.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 08:46 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 157
Default

brazing in a new coil


Thanks for the replies.
I have a propane torch and an oxy/acetylene setup.
Do you use the SB8 similar to how you would solder/sweat a plumbing pipe? e.g. clean the pipes, flux the copper, connect the copper, heat and pipes and then push the sb8 against the copper so it runs around the copper?

Is it possible to use a propane torch to solder in the coil?
If not, can I use the oxy/acetylene? I could just apply the heat from the oxy/acetylene just enough for the sb8 to melt around the pipe.

1 last thing. Can I heat the old coil and pull it apart or does it need to be cut with one of those small copper pipe cutters?

Thx again.

Slash
slash5bmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To Select the Correct Coil ob2s HVAC 24 05-23-2012 12:46 AM
Evaporator Coil Sizing kandykane19 HVAC 0 05-05-2010 03:44 PM
Loud vibration of indoor coil in heat mode john-hvac-new HVAC 3 11-03-2009 09:27 AM
Air conditioning coil heat tolerance? Badfish740 HVAC 1 10-19-2009 05:39 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.