Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2011, 05:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

brand new AC unit not cooling house


We just had a brand new Goodman AC installed in the basemen of our house.

We had the AC running for a few days and noticed that the house was not cooling down on the main and second floor, but the basement is nice a cool.

The vents on all floors are open and cold air is mildy blowing out of them, but even with the thermostat set to 72, our main floor temp is 80+ (and it's maybe 85 outside).

We looked at the cooling unit, and the coils were frozen. We turned everything off let it 'defrost,' But it didn't help matters.

Have someone coming up to check on freon, but not until later in the week and I was just wondering if anyone here had anything thoughtful insights as to what the problem could be.

yodiebear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 06:42 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

brand new AC unit not cooling house


A weld on the lineset is not good.

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 06:45 PM   #3
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

brand new AC unit not cooling house


What really irritates me is that there should've been a pressure test performed to ensure no leaks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 10:09 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,238
Rewards Points: 1,004
Default

brand new AC unit not cooling house


If it's a brand new system the Contractor should get his ass over there now not the end of the week. I am not impressed by him. Even if he's booked he already made $$$on your job and has a responsibility.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 11:41 AM   #5
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 478
Rewards Points: 280
Default

brand new AC unit not cooling house


1. The contactor should get there ASAP...if he provided and installed the Goodman.
2. Right now, we don't know if its a leak, improperly charged or something else.....I have installed Goodman's that had leaks from the factory (which is why I quit installing Goodman's 3 years ago because I picked up a Goodman at the distributor which had a leak on a factory joint....they wanted to send a rep out a week later to verify the leak....Sorry Mr. Homeowner, "i was sold a defective unit but they won't take it back and I have to wait a week to get authorization.....B.S I just fixed it and got them cooling that day )
Technow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cooling a whole house on a wall AC unit RedHelix HVAC 15 07-20-2011 10:53 AM
Trane XR12 1.5 ton-Too small for my house? Badfish740 HVAC 7 09-23-2009 05:48 AM
Central A/C not cooling. Ice on outside unit. titanic98 HVAC 5 08-29-2009 07:01 PM
Furnace w Cooling unit wont turn off Klatimer HVAC 2 09-19-2008 08:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.