Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-18-2013, 07:34 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: se
Posts: 1,317
Rewards Points: 10
Share |
Default

Box ac unit floods room


People,

Kenmore unit, about 13 years old, blowing cold, somehow flooded area in front of the unit. I remember years ago talking with Sears about how this unit does not have a drip/drain tube going outside, and they explained that the condensation drips onto a pan, then "evaporates". Goofy, I thought. Now, maybe its coming to haunt me. It destroyed the wood flooring.

Why do you think NOW it finally decided to flood, and not "dry out/evaporate" like it was designed? What shoyuld I do to check it out? Remove/slide unit out?

Thnaks!

__________________
Alexander Pope: [a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing]
noquacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 08:08 AM   #2
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: VA, MD, DC
Posts: 6,267
Rewards Points: 116
Default

Box ac unit floods room


If the unit is working to remove heat from the air and there is considerable moisture in the air...it will not just "dry out" the pan.

It needs to process and dispose of the moisture if the Relative Humidity in the room is high enough.

It is also possible that the unit was sweating (i.e. its cold and contacting the warm moisture air forms condensation) where it meets the floor.

Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 08:24 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: se
Posts: 1,317
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Box ac unit floods room


So how does this figure? Of course ac units remove heat /humidity from the air. This design worked for 13 years. Florida humidity didnt just start now. I wouldnt think sears engineers designed this unit to work satisfactorily just in low humidity environments.

Somethings going on inside there. Im thinking pulling it out/inspecting is the only option.
__________________
Alexander Pope: [a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing]
noquacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 08:42 AM   #4
Remodeler
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 239
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Box ac unit floods room


Assume you are dealing with a window AC..

It should slope slightly lower to the outside edge so that the condensate migrates to the outside, not a lot just a small amount of slope is enough. If the condensate pan overflows it should do so outside. The condenser fan usually picks up small amounts of the collected water to aid cooling the coils and in turn evaporating the water. This helps the efficiency of the unit and alleviates much of the dripping. On days of extremely high humidity though it may collect more than it can evaporate and in that case would drip to the outside.

If you are getting water inside then the unit is either not sloping enough or even the wrong direction, has some buildup of rust, dirt, etc. in the pan that may be damming the water causing it to flow inside or possibly the pan is cracked or rusted out.
iamrfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to iamrfixit For This Useful Post:
noquacks (08-18-2013)
Old 08-18-2013, 08:52 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,120
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Box ac unit floods room


Quote:
Originally Posted by noquacks View Post
So how does this figure? Of course ac units remove heat /humidity from the air. This design worked for 13 years. Florida humidity didnt just start now. I wouldnt think sears engineers designed this unit to work satisfactorily just in low humidity environments.

Somethings going on inside there. Im thinking pulling it out/inspecting is the only option.
Probably needs a good cleaning. Chanel to slinger is probably clogged. Pull unit out and give it a good cleaning.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (08-18-2013), noquacks (08-18-2013)
Old 08-18-2013, 09:08 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: se
Posts: 1,317
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Box ac unit floods room


Thanks, peple, for fast replies. Time to slide it out.......that thing's heavy!

__________________
Alexander Pope: [a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing]
noquacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
King make up air unit RWolff Electrical 3 04-23-2013 10:22 PM
Stepping Down Into Room. Code question bduncan118 Building & Construction 13 02-03-2013 09:29 PM
Resurrecting a Gas Heater - Questions about unit Jaxx HVAC 2 01-20-2013 02:52 PM
Rusted and almost gone drain pan, Package unit Nordyne kilosos2 HVAC 3 11-18-2012 09:24 AM
How big should a mechanical/utility room be? reveriereptile Building & Construction 30 03-14-2012 08:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.