Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-06-2009, 06:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Putnam, New York
Posts: 19
Share |
Default

Boiler room venting


I just enclosed my boiler and waterheater. The room is approx 9x5 feet. the boiler is vented with a 6" smoke pipe with a a flap that opens when the boiler kicks on. Its a oil burner, baseboard heating. I guess iam just worried that i may have sealed the room and it may be dangerous doing so. My thoery in enclosing the the boiler to it own room was to keep the boiler hot so the boiler would kick onless to keep the tempt up. The house is a basic ranch with an unfinisehed basement at the time. Hope this makes sense. Thanks for any help.


Last edited by dontilgon; 12-07-2009 at 12:15 PM. Reason: add picture
dontilgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 06:24 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Freeport, ME USA
Posts: 120
Default

Boiler room venting


How cold a climate do you live in? I am in southern Maine and my theory is that the boiler provides some heat to the basement so it will not be too cold down there. While I do not have any obvious air leaks into the basement I know that due to age of structure etc. my basement is not to tight for the boiler.

You have both a boiler and water heater? If the room is tight I would think that you may need to bring in some make up air for it to function properly. A 5' x 10' room is not very large and I would think it would get quite toasty in there.

You might want to ask this question in the HVAC section.

meboatermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 06:34 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Boiler room venting


You do need air coming into the room for the equipment to function properly
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 06:43 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Putnam, New York
Posts: 19
Default

Boiler room venting


I guess I should off mentioned location. Its Ny climate. what do u mean by equipment working properly?

Last edited by dontilgon; 12-06-2009 at 06:45 PM.
dontilgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 06:46 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,509
Default

Boiler room venting


Yep, it needs combustion air.

Check what temp your low limit is set to(probably set too high). Thats what has probably been running your boiler so much.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 06:49 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Putnam, New York
Posts: 19
Default

Boiler room venting


My low is 160 and high 180. Boiler pressure between 15-18. Should i leave the door open in the mean time until i get the vent. the ceiling is not closed so i think there plenty of ventilation.

Last edited by dontilgon; 12-06-2009 at 06:53 PM.
dontilgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 06:54 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,509
Default

Boiler room venting


Since you don't use the tankless coil anymore. No reason to have the low limit that high.

I'd set it to 130. It will cycle much less to maintain its temp then.

And cut some registers into the walls to let combustion air in. Before it soots up so ,much it plugs up the boiler.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 07:09 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NY lower Hudson Valley
Posts: 204
Default

Boiler room venting


You need fresh air coming into the boiler so you do not DIE from carbon monoxide poisoning. Probably about a 100 sq in opening to the outside for that size boiler.
zircon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 07:49 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Putnam, New York
Posts: 19
Default

Boiler room venting


WOW thats one way of putting it. So is the room to small for the boiler because I cant see how i would get 100 sqf vent
dontilgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 07:59 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,509
Default

Boiler room venting


He said square INCH, not foot.

The room needs 50 cubic foot of free volume for every 1000 BTU's input. Or you need to have combustion vents/ducts.
The unfinnished area of your basement may give you the volume you need. So you may be able to just add vents/registers through the inside wall to get the combustion air you need.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 08:30 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Putnam, New York
Posts: 19
Default

Boiler room venting


beenthere, if i lower the lower tempt to 140 will that effect the heating of the baseboards. Also thanks for clearing that up. I will pick up two vents tomorrow. I presume i need 2 one for outside wall and inside boiler room wall. Thank again for the help.
dontilgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 08:33 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,509
Default

Boiler room venting


Not really. When the control gets acall for heat, it will bring the burner on and raise the water temp to the high limit temp.

Really suppose to install a high and low vent, so it would be 4. 2 for each side of the wall.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 11:43 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Putnam, New York
Posts: 19
Default

Boiler room venting


High low vent? Did I get over my head building a boiler room. Not sure what you mean. I have 2 18x12 vents. I was going to install one on the back wall and one on the outside behind the boiler?
dontilgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 03:33 AM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,509
Default

Boiler room venting


1 that is 12" above the floor, and one 12" below ceiling.

Prevents Co or CO2 from being able to build up in the room incase of chimney problems.

The 12X18 are big enough in size by themselves. But, won't allow natural air exchange if the chimney is blocked.

Your second grille set doesn't need to be as big as 12X18.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 11:53 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Putnam, New York
Posts: 19
Default

Boiler room venting


I turned the low temp down to 140 this morning and Iam getting alot of banging in the pipes now, There is no air in the line because I tried bleeding and it was fine.


Last edited by dontilgon; 12-07-2009 at 12:18 PM.
dontilgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Skylights? Anyone Ever Mix Venting Type with Fixed in same room? nomad943 Roofing/Siding 1 06-25-2009 09:12 PM
Questions for experts. Tech08 HVAC 9 01-25-2009 12:47 PM
Laundry Room Dimension Question jonathan03 Appliances 1 01-17-2009 10:08 AM
Cold Room mikelbeck HVAC 14 01-16-2009 08:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.