Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2010, 01:29 PM   #46
Member
 
tk03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Boiler outdoor reset control


Your boiler should not run until there is a demand than stop when the demand from the Tekmar ends. If your control does not maintain temperature all the control of the boiler is from the Tekmar. The Tekmar demand or no demand id from the thermostat. The Tekmar will control the water temperature from the heating curve which is determined by the settings for OD air high and low and boiler water temp high and low.


Last edited by tk03; 03-03-2010 at 01:43 PM.
tk03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 02:03 PM   #47
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Boiler outdoor reset control


Sorry....having a little trouble understanding what that all means...
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 02:25 PM   #48
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,554
Rewards Points: 2,788
Default

Boiler outdoor reset control


An outdoor reset is wired in series with your boiler controls, temp control circuit.
So that it can stop the call to the burner, so the burner only runs if the outdoor reset circuit is closed.

Its call an outdoor reset. Because it "resets" the boilers temp(high limit temp) by the outdoor temp.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
secutanudu (03-03-2010)
Old 03-03-2010, 02:30 PM   #49
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Boiler outdoor reset control


Oh, so it goes between the aquastat and the burner?

It must have two thermostats, right? One inside on the boiler and one outside?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 02:42 PM   #50
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,554
Rewards Points: 2,788
Default

Boiler outdoor reset control


Yes, it has 2 temp sensors.

Depends on aquastat and burner as to how its wired in.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 02:57 PM   #51
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Boiler outdoor reset control


Great, I understand now. Is this something I could easily install myself? I am familiar with electrical work, not boilers so much.

I have an oil-fired Weil McLain boiler from about '94.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 03:07 PM   #52
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,554
Rewards Points: 2,788
Default

Boiler outdoor reset control


There not hard to install and set up.

Just don't make a mistake and wire it that it bypasses the boilers aquastat's high limit.

MUST be in series.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 03:09 PM   #53
Licensed Master Plumber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 476
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Boiler outdoor reset control


Both Tekmar's and Taco's web sites have the wiring diagrams for just about every situation you could come up with. BTW, Tekmar manufactures the same control for Taco. There are other makers out there as well like the Beckett Heat manager.
__________________
Always ask to see your contractors license!
NHMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 03:15 PM   #54
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,554
Rewards Points: 2,788
Default

Boiler outdoor reset control


Quote:
Originally Posted by NHMaster View Post
There are other makers out there as well like the Beckett Heat manager.

Which is a joke. And a knock off of other manufacturers control scheme.

Beckett even admits. that at a bout 20 outdoor temp, the HM doesn't do anything to save you money.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 03:38 PM   #55
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Boiler outdoor reset control


Hey !!
Now it makes sense to me too
I'm probably going to wait until we get a new heating system installed
Until then I will reset manually once (if) it warms up here
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 05:35 PM   #56
Licensed Master Plumber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 476
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Boiler outdoor reset control


what you want is a Buderus boiler with the logamatic control.

__________________
Always ask to see your contractors license!
NHMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to diagnose gas valve problems Nestor_Kelebay How To Guides 28 10-30-2013 04:19 PM
New Tekmar 256 Reset Control: Boiler Minimum Temperature? VelvetFoot HVAC 0 12-17-2009 11:32 PM
S9301A1001 Integrated Boiler Control Invisible-Man HVAC 3 03-31-2009 09:49 PM
Wiring limit control on gas boiler uncleneiler HVAC 2 11-21-2008 01:54 PM
Wiring limit control on gas boiler uncleneiler Electrical 1 11-21-2008 08:03 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.