Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2013, 08:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 12
Share |
Default

Boiler not lighting


I have a Utica boiler that does not light. When I call for heat the electronic ignition clicks then lights the pilot light. No more then a second or two the pilot light goes out and never lights the burners. I have to shut it off then back on and the same thing happens again. Anyone have any guesses? Thank you much.

Beronicles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:07 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,055
Default

Boiler not lighting


Clean the flame sensor.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:34 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 12
Default

Boiler not lighting


Is the flame sensor the same as a rollout switch? I had a boiler guy come look at it and he seemed to think it was the gas valve. He was going to have to order the part so I wanted to see what you all thought first. Thanks again.
Beronicles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 03:08 PM   #4
Retired Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: brooklyn ny
Posts: 51
Default

Boiler not lighting


check flame sensor first
fy171 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 05:14 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,243
Default

Boiler not lighting


Quote:
Originally Posted by Beronicles View Post
Is the flame sensor the same as a rollout switch?
The flame sensor is a thin metal wire that will be in the path of the pilot flame. It will have a ceramic sleeve around it where it mounts in the assembly. There will be a lone wire coming from it going down to the control board. Sometimes these can be gently pulled out of the assembly to clean them. A scotchbrite pad or steel wool is recomended to clean them. In a pinch I have used a dollar bill to clean them.

A rollout switch is a round button like device about the size of a nickel with two wires attached to it or it will look look similar to that with a "U" shaped wire sticking up from it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beronicles View Post
I had a boiler guy come look at it and he seemed to think it was the gas valve. He was going to have to order the part so I wanted to see what you all thought first. Thanks again.
I think your boiler guy needs to get some training
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 10:57 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 12
Default

Boiler not lighting


Ok I pulled out the flame sensor and cleaned it up real good. No cracks or anything in the ceramic sleeve. (I thought that was just the igniter) The furnace does the same thing where the pilot light comes on for just about a second or two then goes back out. There is no strong smell of gas so I am thinking that the burners never get gas to them. Unfortunately I am thinking the valve is the next thing to be replaced. Any more suggestions before I commit? Thanks again everyone for all the insight.
Beronicles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 11:17 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,243
Default

Boiler not lighting


When the pilot lights, is the flame sensor in the pilot flame real good? The flame has to be touching the probe in order for it to work. Also, Check the connection on the board and make sure it is clean and tight.
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 12:17 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,325
Default

Boiler not lighting


look to see that you have a good pilot and that it is hitting flame sensor....clean pilot tube and orifice ..retry...ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 04:26 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,055
Default

Boiler not lighting


Check your grounds.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suspect Electric boiler causing brownout crankcase Electrical 4 11-06-2012 01:41 AM
New Boiler for an Office - Got Two Quotes, but What Do We Need? Prolow Plumbing 0 09-17-2012 06:10 AM
Setting the reset "Curve" for a modulating boiler (modcon) mknmike HVAC 5 02-10-2011 11:37 AM
Need help fast please re hydronic boiler water supply and backflow DanDaMan HVAC 6 12-11-2010 02:26 PM
I Need a New Boiler. What do i need to know New Boiler Co Plumbing 0 10-23-2010 06:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.