Boiler Issue - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2011, 05:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Boiler issue


My boiler system will start up just fine and heat the room as it should. Problem is that once the thermostat reads that the setpoint temperature and ambient are the same, it shuts the pilot light off. After ambient drops below the setpoint temperature the system won't light the pilot which obviously won't light the main burners. However, if I turn the boiler power off and then turn it back on(manually with a switch), it will fire right up and do exactly what its supposed to do. Any help would be great.

Edit: If helpful, its a Weil-McClain HE-3, Series 2

Advertisement


Last edited by ajlboarder; 11-11-2011 at 05:20 PM.
ajlboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 05:37 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Boiler issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by ajlboarder View Post
My boiler system will start up just fine and heat the room as it should. Problem is that once the thermostat reads that the setpoint temperature and ambient are the same, it shuts the pilot light off. After ambient drops below the setpoint temperature the system won't light the pilot which obviously won't light the main burners. However, if I turn the boiler power off and then turn it back on(manually with a switch), it will fire right up and do exactly what its supposed to do. Any help would be great.

Edit: If helpful, its a Weil-McClain HE-3, Series 2
boiler is locking out for some reason. you are re-setting it when you turn the power on and off ,,,,,,

Advertisement

carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 05:59 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Boiler issue


I think the relay on the pressure switch is defective... it kicked on when I put a jumper across
ajlboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 07:59 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,419
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

Boiler issue


Or you have an obstruction in your flue, or moisture in the hose, a crack in the hose, A restriction in the boiler.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 08:53 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Boiler issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Or you have an obstruction in your flue, or moisture in the hose, a crack in the hose, A restriction in the boiler.
i concure could be many things
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 11:57 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Boiler issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Or you have an obstruction in your flue, or moisture in the hose, a crack in the hose, A restriction in the boiler.
If any of these were the case, why does it work properly on start-up? Seems like some component based defect to me..
ajlboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 02:34 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,419
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

Boiler issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by ajlboarder View Post
If any of these were the case, why does it work properly on start-up? Seems like some component based defect to me..
Because its a partial obstruction. And gets worse as the unit runs. then when the unit shuts off, the obstruction is still causing the problem. Its probably not satisfying the thermostat completely, and is locking near the end of the heat call.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 05:14 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Boiler issue


I can drop the setpoint manually to satisfy and the problem still exists even after only 1 minute of running.
ajlboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 05:22 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Boiler issue


I have also noticed the following:
If thermostat is on and set to higher than ambient before boiler is turned on -> system works fine
If boiler is on before thermostat is set to "heat" -> system has the same problem (blower kicks on but wont light pilot)
ajlboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 06:34 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,419
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

Boiler issue


probably needs a good cleaning and service.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 07:22 PM   #11
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 606
Default

Boiler issue


If you bypass the thermostat leads and fire it through a heating cycle, does it still lock out?

Advertisement

how is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to wire Honeywell IAQ to Burnham RSM/96 oil boiler 6burgh HVAC 26 11-13-2010 09:21 PM
I Need a New Boiler. What do i need to know New Boiler Co Plumbing 0 10-23-2010 07:03 PM
Why does my oil boiler maintain heat? secutanudu HVAC 5 10-19-2010 04:46 PM
Outside water boiler shutdown hillardl Plumbing 2 03-20-2009 06:27 PM
Boiler Troubles *I Need Help Please* mikerouse1989 HVAC 4 02-01-2009 12:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts