Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2011, 09:38 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Pa.
Posts: 95
Share |
Default

Boiler btu


Hello,
I think I will need to replace my oil fired boiler. It was recommended by a service techician. I want to do a search on cost of a new boiler with a tankless heater or a boiler with an indirect water heater. But first I need to identify the btu imput or output of my boiler.

I looked at the metal decal with numbers stamped on it and this is what I can make out:
Heating capacity 86 MBH
Heating capacity water 114 MBH. (what is mbh?)

This is a Weil Mclain oil fired boiler model # P-368-V-WT.
Maximum water pressure is 30 psi.
There is also another set of letters and numbers that are much bigger. It reads CP 1706377.

I assume this boiler is only 22 years old because I have a copy of a permit application to replace the boiler, dated Sept. 1989 that the previous owner of the property gave me.

rjordan393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 10:09 AM   #2
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Default

Boiler btu


MBH = Thousand BTU's per Hour

Would be surprised if that boiler really needs to be replaced, I have always read that Weil Mclain boilers were one of the best.

Mark

__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 10:41 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Pa.
Posts: 95
Default

Boiler btu


Thanks,
Thats what I heard too. A technician raised the water pressure to 20 psi from almost zero but the next day I checked it and it looks like theres only 2 to 4 lbs on the reading after the boiler shuts down. It must have leaked. I think this is the reason why I am getting poor performance. The hot water supply comes direct drom the boiler and sometimes we get poor performance for that too.
To have enough hot water to take a shower, I have to place the temperature settings at 170 low and 200 high.
My nephew inlaw said the hot water sometimes takes a long time to reach upstairs. There is an additional thermostat on the second floor to control the heat for the rooms but the tech. said we do not have a true 2 zone system. Another technician said that the coils may need to be cleaned but the problem is that by taking apart the necessary components, breakage may occur because of the corrosion or rust on them and then I would need another boiler installed.
Your thoughts?
rjordan393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting the reset "Curve" for a modulating boiler (modcon) mknmike HVAC 5 02-10-2011 11:37 AM
Need help fast please re hydronic boiler water supply and backflow DanDaMan Plumbing 21 12-22-2010 07:01 PM
Need help fast please re hydronic boiler water supply and backflow DanDaMan HVAC 6 12-11-2010 02:26 PM
I Need a New Boiler. What do i need to know New Boiler Co Plumbing 0 10-23-2010 06:03 PM
Burnham boiler banging/thumping noises quadradeuce HVAC 6 10-02-2010 09:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.