Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-30-2011, 01:36 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

boiler


My boiler won't stop running- I have the temp set as low as it goes and it is almost 80 degrees in here. Help
Should buy a new thermostat? What is a 115 switch? All power is up and running fine- and we have had the heat on for over a week now and have not had any problems until this morning.


Last edited by united916; 10-30-2011 at 01:47 PM. Reason: added more info- questions
united916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 01:42 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

boiler


shut the 115 switch off.... sorry like you didn't think of that relay might be failed closed...if the power is up and its running break the wire from the stat if it goes off the stat or the wire run is touching so your heat is calling...or pull the stat if it goes off the stat is messin' up....

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 01:49 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

boiler


Not sure what a 115 switch is...the thermostat that we have hooked up to is it an older dial thermostat- with a mercury level inside of it. Should we replace this??
united916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 01:56 PM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

boiler


if your standing at the furnace it is the switch mounted on the side for service shutdowns....remove the stat from the wall the boiler should shut off..if it stay on go down to the boiler and disconnect one only thin stat wire either...and the boiler should shut down....if not on both the relay within is welded closed.....use the toggle on/off to control the house if your into a cold fall already
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 06:26 PM   #5
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,530
Rewards Points: 576
Default

boiler


If you don't have a power shut off on the side of your boiler....
The code for an electrical shut off for a boiler in my area is usually located between the boiler and the door to the boiler room.( Located higher than a normal light switch would be). If you can't find it, try the 15 amp service breaker that controls the boiler in your electical house service panel.
If the burners in the boiler continues to burn after the 120 Volt power has been turned off then there is a safety & boiler damage potential and you should immediately turn off the gas supply to the boiler.

I am also assuming that you only have one thermostat in the home for your boiler???

Last edited by how; 10-30-2011 at 06:33 PM.
how is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting the reset "Curve" for a modulating boiler (modcon) mknmike HVAC 5 02-10-2011 12:37 PM
Need help fast please re hydronic boiler water supply and backflow DanDaMan HVAC 6 12-11-2010 03:26 PM
Low water cutoff keeps shutting boiler off dolfish HVAC 7 12-06-2010 05:26 PM
I Need a New Boiler. What do i need to know New Boiler Co Plumbing 0 10-23-2010 07:03 PM
Burnham boiler banging/thumping noises quadradeuce HVAC 6 10-02-2010 10:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.