Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-24-2012, 07:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower won't start...


I'm sure there has been several discussions on the very same topic, but I havent really found the exact same issue. Anyway here's what's happening. Thanks in advance for any help.


Turned on ac, condenser & compressor start up fine. Blower has a drum like sound and its trying to start but cant, I've hand spun the cage and threw power on and 50% of the time it catches.

ANY HELP is greatly apprieciated.

DWN3GRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 07:53 PM   #2
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Blower won't start...


Model???? Serial????? Is this ECM blower motor?

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 07:58 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower won't start...


Quote:
Originally Posted by jjboy View Post
model???? Serial????? Is this ecm blower motor?
RHEEM CLASSIC PLUS

model: Rhla-hm4821ja ser# m4807 03019

x13 motor

Last edited by DWN3GRN; 06-24-2012 at 08:05 PM. Reason: ADDED TEXT
DWN3GRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 08:19 PM   #4
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Blower won't start...


http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...wKZyBy_wicNDnw

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...8w_klFc9oZH1-g

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.

Last edited by JJboy; 06-24-2012 at 08:21 PM.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 08:29 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower won't start...



Thanks JJ, Ive read this whole manual. All volts are good.. I wanted to know where the run and start caps are? (So, if i can hand start it, does the run cap need replacing too?0=)
DWN3GRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 08:50 PM   #6
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Blower won't start...


there are no capacitors for X-13 motors
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 08:53 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower won't start...


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
there are no capacitors for X-13 motors
Hi hvactech,

I guess thats why i couldn't locate em. lol There is a relay that is in the upper left corner. Would this relay not open/close to start the blower?
DWN3GRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 08:56 PM   #8
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Blower won't start...


Picture? I have no idea what relay you are talking about.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 09:01 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower won't start...


Just got the blower to catch, its blowing high speed then degrades to low then back to high and so on.
DWN3GRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 09:05 PM   #10
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Blower won't start...


sounds like a bad motor or controller. need to check voltages to the motor and which taps are active in order to determine for sure. Use the manuals posted earlier to diagnose.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 09:10 PM   #11
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Blower won't start...


This blower motor works this way by varying the speed.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 09:12 PM   #12
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Blower won't start...


Quote:
Originally Posted by jjboy View Post
this blower motor works this way by varying the speed.

nope!
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 09:13 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower won't start...


I will check the volts again. Thanks guys. I did put my hand over the motor and its cool, so its not overheating.
DWN3GRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 09:20 PM   #14
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Blower won't start...


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
nope!
Are you saying that speed does not vary?
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 09:23 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower won't start...


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
Are you saying that speed does not vary?

I believe the V/speed is when switching to Heat. Heat = LOW

DWN3GRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
blower problems with bryant furnace. blowerissue HVAC 4 03-13-2012 11:34 PM
Odd Fireplace Outlet Behavior permagrin Electrical 2 12-17-2011 08:06 AM
Blower NOT continuously ON on Bryant 310AAV rational HVAC 5 08-15-2011 08:44 PM
Lennox G20 Series - Bad blower board - or is it more? inn8pwr HVAC 48 12-30-2009 04:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.