Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-27-2011, 09:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 19
Share |
Default

Blower Won't Start


I have a Ruud RGAC-09EA furnace. Today I noticed when the fan was supposed to turn on it wasn't. Went downstairs and heard a humming coming from the furnace. After resetting it at the switch on the furnace and the thermostat it did kick on and run its cycle as normal.

A few hours later it did the same thing. I'm thinking its the blower that took a dump. I've pulled it out and gotten the part number off it: FA55HXCEN.

Looking online, I was only able to find it at one place (AmericanHVACparts.com). This indicates it needs a capacitor installed with it.

My questions are:
Any other things I should troubleshoot first?
Is there any other way to find a place that sells that part (googling hasn't turned up that part anywhere else)?
How much trouble am I getting into? I've done a fair amount of home improvement work, but nothing along this line yet.
How should that capacitor be mounted? I assume on the blower housing somehow?

Any information to help me out of this bind would be greatly appreciated.

ande3171 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 09:06 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,247
Default

Blower Won't Start


before you dump the motor check to see if it has a capacitor try thay 1st...if no capacitor...looks like motor....how about ww grainger...?

ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 09:12 PM   #3
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,543
Default

Blower Won't Start


I'm with Ben. This little metal canister will be attached to the blower motor housing, called a run capacitor. Guess what a motor will not do without a good one?

It will have one brown and one brown and white (usually) wire to each side of the cap. Does not mattter which wire goes on which side. The mfd rating of the cap, on the other hand, must be the exact same as what is running the motor now so you'll need to check it.



Try that first, that part is around $10 and easy to replace.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 09:14 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Blower Won't Start


Don't think I have a capacitor. I can trace the wires from the circuit panel to a little junction box attached to the housing and then straight into the motor.
ande3171 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 09:24 PM   #5
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,543
Default

Blower Won't Start


Then it's the motor.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 09:28 PM   #6
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,543
Default

Blower Won't Start


Quote:
Originally Posted by ande3171 View Post
Don't think I have a capacitor. I can trace the wires from the circuit panel to a little junction box attached to the housing and then straight into the motor.

The capacitor wires come out of the motor and connect directly to the cap. They don't have anything to do with the main power wires coming into the furnace. The capacitor could be mounted where you can't see it.

Just a possibility that you do have one and don't know it.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 09:34 PM   #7
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,543
Default

Blower Won't Start


The cap wires.

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 09:39 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Blower Won't Start


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
The capacitor wires come out of the motor and connect directly to the cap. They don't have anything to do with the main power wires coming into the furnace. The capacitor could be mounted where you can't see it.

Just a possibility that you do have one and don't know it.
Well there are only 4 wires going into the motor, red, black, blue and white. I know the red,black, and blue represent the 3 speeds, with the white being the ground. There is no brown wire, so I do not believe there is a cap involved.
ande3171 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 09:52 PM   #9
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,543
Default

Blower Won't Start


Fine, it's the motor.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 10:00 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Blower Won't Start


So I think I might have found a match at Grainger, so I'm pulling this apart so I can take it with to compare.

I can't get the motor separated from the fan blade. I loosened up the set screw you see pointing towards the bottom left, but it won't budge. Am I missing something, or do I just need to work on it for a while with some PB blaster?
Attached Images
 
ande3171 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 10:10 PM   #11
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,543
Default

Blower Won't Start


WD-40, Liquid Wrench or whatever this PB Blaster is should work. Heck, vegetable oil will work. DO NOT TAP ON THE END OF THE MOTOR SHAFT, EVER!!

With an adjustable CRESCENT wrench (not pliers in any way) you tighten down onto the shaft's one flat side, holding the shaft in place, and spin the wheel with the other hand.

Wouldn't hurt to use some sand paper if it's rusty, the shaft.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
ande3171 (11-28-2011)
Old 11-28-2011, 07:59 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Blower Won't Start


Thanks for all the help and tips. Got the whole thing pulled apart this morning after letting it soak in pb blaster overnight. Found a electric motor repair shop that had a brand new one ready to go, plugged it in and everything is back online.

BTW, PB Blaster is a WD-40 like spray, but much more effective on rusted bolts. I use it all the time on automotive applications to help break loose bolts that haven't been turned in 10+ years. The longer you can let it set in, the better. I'd recommend giving it a try sometime.

Thanks again for the help!

ande3171 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ande3171 For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (11-28-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Plus 90 - No Blower Ducaticorse HVAC 11 10-16-2012 08:39 PM
Water heater blower needs re-wire kittf Plumbing 7 12-18-2010 10:44 PM
Lennox G20 Series - Bad blower board - or is it more? inn8pwr HVAC 48 12-30-2009 04:13 PM
RPJ2 Blower fan will not stop running number22 HVAC 8 07-19-2009 05:27 PM
Blower keeps cycling on and off simonb HVAC 1 01-17-2009 10:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.