Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-06-2012, 05:28 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 219
Share |
Default

Blower on Tempstar Furnace Barely Blowing Air


Yesterday I came home to realize my house was freezing. I went down to the furnace and pulled the cover off. I manually pressed the safety switch which resulted in an immediately call for heat. The ignitors lit no problem. I realized the blower fan wheel was spinning slow and after hearing my furnace cycle off and on over a million times through the years, noticed that the blower wasn't ramping up enough to blow any air. After about 1 min. the furnace diagnoses a problem and cycles off. So today I call the HVAC company that installed my furnace (9 years ago) to come have a look. My wife was home and the tech told her the AC coil was completely plugged. She called and told me this and told me the tech gave her instructions to give to me. SO I call the tech and told him that yes, my AC coil may be plugged up, and I will clean it, but this isn't the problem. There is something wrong with the blower. He assured me there wasn't anything wrong with it. So I get home from work, remove the coil, clean it gently with a toothbrush and re-installed it. Turn the furnace on....... SAME ISSUE. The blower is not spooling up enough to blow air. All this after I was charged $129 for him just to show up.

Any suggestions of what this could be?

Thanks

psilva8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 05:39 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Blower on Tempstar Furnace Barely Blowing Air


Weak capacitor is a likely suspect.

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Marty S. For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (12-06-2012)
Old 12-06-2012, 05:40 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 219
Default

Blower on Tempstar Furnace Barely Blowing Air


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
Weak capacitor is a likely suspect.
So you would recommend changing the capacitor before trying anything else? I think it's only about 10 bucks or so
psilva8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Blower on Tempstar Furnace Barely Blowing Air


Yes. Slow motor is weak capacitor or motor failing. If you're going to throw a part at it might as well be a cheap one.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Marty S. For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (12-06-2012)
Old 12-06-2012, 08:38 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,243
Default

Blower on Tempstar Furnace Barely Blowing Air


yep agree with marty change capacitor...seem to be the problem....
ben's plumbing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 05:18 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,388
Default

Blower on Tempstar Furnace Barely Blowing Air


As others said, good chance its just the run capacitor or the fan.

But, come this spring. Use a mild cleaner on that evap coil. You only got the surface dirt off. There is probably just as much dirt in between the fins as you got off the surface. And I'm guessing you actually cleaned the side the air enters from, not just the discharge side of the coil.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (12-07-2012)
Old 12-07-2012, 05:22 AM   #7
Items wanted: Time
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 195
Default

Blower on Tempstar Furnace Barely Blowing Air


Discharge capacitor before handling.
NiNe O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 04:18 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 219
Default

Blower on Tempstar Furnace Barely Blowing Air


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
As others said, good chance its just the run capacitor or the fan.

But, come this spring. Use a mild cleaner on that evap coil. You only got the surface dirt off. There is probably just as much dirt in between the fins as you got off the surface. And I'm guessing you actually cleaned the side the air enters from, not just the discharge side of the coil.
Ok gentlemen, it was the capacitor. I had the tech come back and install one.

Also, I cleaned the AC coil with a toothbrush on the side the air enters from. I didn't just clean the surface, the toothbrush enabled me to clean between the fins. I spend an hour doing it and I'm confident I did a good job.

Thanks all

psilva8 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to psilva8 For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (12-07-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Plus 90 - No Blower Ducaticorse HVAC 11 10-16-2012 08:39 PM
Payne gas furnace - blower fan running continuously Ed40 HVAC 0 02-05-2011 02:19 PM
Help with furnace blower problem Spydey HVAC 6 12-15-2010 08:18 PM
comfortmaker furnace; i've done the hard part by taking the blower motor out Hurell HVAC 2 06-05-2010 01:03 PM
Furnace blower not working right. oiljumper HVAC 4 11-10-2008 10:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.