Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-12-2010, 08:43 PM   #1

Share |

Blower problem on American Standard Freedom 90 furnace

I'm not a professional, or close to it, but would like to try to repair my own furnace. It's an American Standard Freedom 90, installed in 1999. Our basement flooded about 18 inches with clean, cold ground water in June. We haven't touched the furnace since. When we turned it on recently, it all worked beautifully, except for one thing. The blower never came on. Everything is good, but the books tell me the blower should come on about 45 seconds after the chamber ignites. Nothing happens. I can reach in and turn the blower fan without any trouble. On this furnace, the blower and motor (direct drive with no belt), along with the circuit board were all under water for about a day. Note: this furnace is a two-stage with a variable speed motor. Questions: Can a motor survive having been under water? Can I save it by having the motor rebuilt? Or is it more likely the circuit board was fried? Any comments would help. Thank you much.

ekimmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 08:52 PM   #2

One other thing. I have the Installer's Guide (18-CD20D3-4) and the User's Information Manual (Pub. No. 32-5022-06), but no manual or guide that shows me any parts or explains the operation or troubleshooting. Where can I get a written or digital copy of a good manual, if possible?

Old 10-12-2010, 08:57 PM   #3
Hvac Pro

If the motor and board got wet for any period of time they are unsafe and damaged. For that amount of time it is damaged.That motor has a circuit board built into the end of it and capacitors and is not repairable as well as the board. Sorry.

I would contact your ins co. and see if they can help.
Old 10-12-2010, 09:12 PM   #4