Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-15-2013, 11:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower Motor Upgrade


I recently had my blower motor in my 395CAV048091 Bryant furnace go bad. So I'm looking to replace it. These were my upgrade specs:

Old motor:
1/2hp 1075rpm 7.8amp motor

New motor:
1/2hp 1075rpm 6.5amp motor

New motor fit like a glove and was a cinch to install. Problems arose when it just couldn't push the amount of air we needed. There's condensation around basement vents and it's kind of noisy. My question is this:

1. How far can I upgrade my blower without damaging my system?
2. My furnace is rated for 10.4amps but I figure some of that has to go into the operation of the boards and such so how high can I go on amps?
3. Can I increase HP and if so, how much?
4. Will increasing RPMs make a big difference?
5. My board has 4 control spots for heat, cool, spare1, and spare2; I'm guessing putting the black "HI" speed wire on the cool jumper will dedicate the highest speed to the AC or is that handled by the COM port using the white wire?

I just want to upgrade if possible. Here are some items I'm looking at;

-----Variable HP motor

------3/4hp 9.1amp motor

-----3/4hp 9.5amp motor

I'm probably going to pony up and get a pro to install whatever I buy but I know I can get a better deal myself if I can just decipher my best move. I would appreciate any advice given.

Brian

briansterling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 06:20 AM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Blower Motor Upgrade


The amp draw on the new motor was too low. You can increase the HP to 3/4. DO NOT increase the rpm. You should have a pro install the new motor and check temp rise.

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 05:11 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

Blower Motor Upgrade


Its the amp draw rating that is important, not the printed HP rating. Different motor manufacturers use different standards to rate the HP of their motors.

You just need a motor to match the old motors ratings excluding the HP rating.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 08:00 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 802
Rewards Points: 512
Default

Blower Motor Upgrade


I am not a pro, so I will leave this as a question for the HVAC pros, but it seems premature to replace the motor. I would think that you first want to check that the motor is drawing something close to full load amps, or at least is getting pretty hot. If its not, the problem is somewhere else. Specs say the furnace is 4 speeds. Is that motor actually turning at 1075 RPM?
SPS-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 09:38 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

Blower Motor Upgrade


Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS-1 View Post
I am not a pro, so I will leave this as a question for the HVAC pros, but it seems premature to replace the motor. I would think that you first want to check that the motor is drawing something close to full load amps, or at least is getting pretty hot. If its not, the problem is somewhere else. Specs say the furnace is 4 speeds. Is that motor actually turning at 1075 RPM?
His new motor isn't running at 1075 RPM, because its not the same actual horse power as the original motor. So it cant reach that speed and move the air that the old one did.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (08-17-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Plus 90 - No Blower Ducaticorse HVAC 11 10-16-2012 08:39 PM
Odd Fireplace Outlet Behavior permagrin Electrical 2 12-17-2011 08:06 AM
Blower cycling and vibration whatshappening HVAC 1 02-09-2010 04:48 AM
Trane Furnace Blower Running Nearly Continuously stephensandlin HVAC 3 01-03-2010 01:21 AM
Carrier 58MXA Wiring Blower Switch 63012753 HVAC 0 10-06-2009 09:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.