Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-13-2012, 08:35 PM   #16
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Share |
Default

Blower Motor Replacement Wiring


There isn't. That relay is just a switch. Power needs to be supplied to it.

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 08:38 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Blower Motor Replacement Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
I don't see where is the L1 and L2 to power the blower motor/relay.
Aren't those the black & white to the circuit breaker?
taram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 08:43 PM   #18
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Blower Motor Replacement Wiring


L1 and L2 supply power to the relay control board, that's all. Motor power must be derived from another source. The relay control JUST switches it. The black and red leads are that switch. That yellow taped wire is not used (careful, it is energized when power is applied to the red wire) Taram...are you over your head in this one?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 08:44 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Blower Motor Replacement Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
The relay has no power....it's a switch. If it clicks it "probably" works. And that diagram is for a motor different than what is now being used. You need to supply power to the relay, and then from the relay to the motor. From what I see power would go to the red, then from the relay black lead, to the motor. The other motor leads are capped. White is neutral, green is ground and red and blue remain capped. The brown are correct for the capacitor. Using the red or blue instead of the black would just run the motor at a different speed. See if you can find the schematic online for the motor somewhere.
OK... off to search the web for a motor schematic... but to be clear... the image I posted is off the back of the relay... so I'm not sure what you meant that it went to another motor... I feel super stupid...
taram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 08:45 PM   #20
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Blower Motor Replacement Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by taram View Post
OK... off to search the web for a motor schematic... but to be clear... the image I posted is off the back of the relay... so I'm not sure what you meant that it went to another motor... I feel super stupid...
Don't feel stupid. What I meant was that the schematic you show was for the motor originally supplied with tht unit....it has been changed and therefore the motor will have additional wires for the additional speeds available. Not to worry, the extra leads will not be used.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 08:52 PM   #21
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Blower Motor Replacement Wiring


Part of the problem is that the wires which are currently supplying the blower need to be relocated. Can you take any pictures which show all the wiring? I see everything disconnected...where are the wires which come into the unit itself..can you show that?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 09:29 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Blower Motor Replacement Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
Part of the problem is that the wires which are currently supplying the blower need to be relocated. Can you take any pictures which show all the wiring? I see everything disconnected...where are the wires which come into the unit itself..can you show that?
OK... new pic attached...

I'm not sure I understand why the wires need to be relocated... This is exactly how it was before the motor was replaced... in terms of the wires... just not how they are connected... ugh The boyfriend didn't take a picture and then couldn't make it work except to connect the power for the motor (black) to the main power connections and now is travelling. So that's why I'm sure it's how it's wired and not the motor... it works great if I use the breaker to control the on/off.

I'd prefer not to have to manage the a/c this weekend with the breaker but I can. Temps are supposed to approach 100 (blech). So yes, I may be out of my depth... I can connect the wires... thought maybe it was a simple thing... if not, then I will have someone come out next week.

New pictures attached... I do appreciate the time....
Cheers
Tara
Attached Thumbnails
Blower Motor Replacement Wiring-back2.jpg   Blower Motor Replacement Wiring-all.jpg  
Attached Images
 
taram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 09:37 PM   #23
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Blower Motor Replacement Wiring


The main power to the blower should be switched by the relay. I can't be sure from the picture, but are there 3 wires under that wire nut? I'd bet that only one connection would need to be changed to make it work properly. But from the pictures I'ts hard for me to tell what goes where. The wire which now goes to the blower (not the white) needs to go to the red wire on the relay, and the black wire from the relay needs to go to the blower.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 09:45 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Blower Motor Replacement Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
The main power to the blower should be switched by the relay. I can't be sure from the picture, but are there 3 wires under that wire nut? I'd bet that only one connection would need to be changed to make it work properly. But from the pictures I'ts hard for me to tell what goes where. The wire which now goes to the blower (not the white) needs to go to the red wire on the relay, and the black wire from the relay needs to go to the blower.
I'm not sure which wire nut you mean... There are three white wires in one nut... the blower white... the relay white... and the white to the circuit breaker...

The other wire to the blower... would be the group of three for speed... red/blue/black... that is currently connected to the relay with the red and black... so also 3 in one wire nut...

Is the main power the white or same one that determines speed?

I'm still looking for a motor diagram... but it seems simple... one from the speed group... the white... ground with the green and the capacitor...

and that works if I connect one from the speed group to the black from the breaker... but not when I connect it to either the red, black, or red & black together on the relay...

Is that useful?
taram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 09:53 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Blower Motor Replacement Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by taram View Post
I'm still looking for a motor diagram... but it seems simple... one from the speed group... the white... ground with the green and the capacitor...
OK... here's the only thing that has come close... and it seems to be what we are saying.... CD#6 on page 1...

http://www.electricmotorwarehouse.co...AO_CONNECT.PDF
taram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 05:46 AM   #26
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,401
Default

Blower Motor Replacement Wiring


The red of the relay connects to the black from the breaker. The black of the motor connects to the black from the relay that was not originally used.

Good chance the relay is not working, and that is why it was bypassed.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
taram (07-15-2012)
Old 07-14-2012, 08:00 AM   #27
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,601
Default

Blower Motor Replacement Wiring


the only wire that is connected from the motor is that BLACK to the relays either wire.the YELLOW out of the relay is the other side of the N.O/N.C relay..your using N.O red/black...OK the 2 yellow out of the TR are the 24vs to the strip there....just because the relay clicks doesn't mean it is closing,wire the motor as told THRU the relay power in/motor out BLACK then jump C to G on that strip.the relay might click motor should take off....remembering the relay is rated for the motor amperage and contacts might be shot even though you have action....abandone relay in place add a general purpose...local GRAINGER http://www.bestbuyheatingandaircondi..._Code=REL90123
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to biggles For This Useful Post:
taram (07-15-2012)
Old 07-14-2012, 11:09 AM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Blower Motor Replacement Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
The red of the relay connects to the black from the breaker. The black of the motor connects to the black from the relay that was not originally used.

Good chance the relay is not working, and that is why it was bypassed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
abandone relay in place add a general purpose...local GRAINGER http://www.bestbuyheatingandaircondi..._Code=REL90123

Thank you so much!!! new relay ordered... nothing available local today... Have a great weekend! Stay cool....

Tara
taram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 09:49 AM   #29
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 585
Default

Blower Motor Replacement Wiring


The new fan center from Grainger will probably use black for "C" and red "NO" will wire to the new motor black (or blue for medium speed , or red for low speed).

Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Houston204 For This Useful Post:
taram (07-15-2012)
Old 07-16-2012, 06:39 PM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Blower Motor Replacement Wiring


Thank you everyone!!!! I am the proud new owner of a self installed ac fan control board... everything is working perfectly now!!

Have a wonderful week...
Tara


Last edited by taram; 07-16-2012 at 06:39 PM. Reason: Title didn't show so added to body
taram is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blower NOT continuously ON on Bryant 310AAV rational HVAC 5 08-15-2011 08:44 PM
Need help wiring a.c.smith blower moter STEVEEBY HVAC 8 07-02-2011 09:26 AM
Blower motor shorting out lewispm HVAC 1 06-18-2011 10:56 AM
AC blower short cycling-works on heat though Steve60007 HVAC 14 06-22-2009 04:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.