Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2010, 09:28 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Blower Motor quit, changed wiring now working?


B is a BIG motivator when the windchill is -25 and it's 40 in the house! Actually most folks are happy to see the heat on so quickly and the price is what it is. There's always a few every year that think you're asking for their first born though.

Same here John. The one's that undercut our shop by a lot went under. The one I work for has been in business for over 50 years.


Last edited by Marty S.; 01-07-2010 at 09:31 PM.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:39 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Blower Motor quit, changed wiring now working?


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnH1 View Post
Usualy the low price around here is the guy that thinks everything over cost of parts and labor is profit. Most do not understand the true cost of overhead. A lot are one man bands living hand to mouth also.
Used to call the "trunk slammers" when I was in the field!
So true now more than ever. With so many people out of work, or cut back schedules, everybody is turning to doing side jobs.
TJ_in_IL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 06:25 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Blower Motor quit, changed wiring now working?


Sounds like a reputable Company to me the guy gave you a decent price for the work and besides could have left the motor off and said there's nothing I can do you have to get a new motor installed.

He at least left you with an operating system so you had time to make a decision.

If I had a problem I would call that Company again.
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 04:01 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: va
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Blower Motor quit, changed wiring now working?


Thanks for everyones input ... it was nice of him to leave me with heat. We are putting in a universal motor with a 5 year warranty tomorrow.

$69.95 + tax, Labor, 0.

So, I am happy so far.


Though we are budgeting for a new system in 2 years. Hopefulyl we can atleast get through half of that time...

My system now is pretty inefficient. We have a 1500 sq ft cape built in 86'. We think the guy had built and lived downstairs and just kind of finished the upstairs.

The air handler is upstairs in the knee wall with very limited space. Then there is one vent in the ceiling (no attic) for the 16-15 room. The other room upstairs has two vents.

We spend 75% of our time upstairs. In the summer you can't really cool the house below 71ish degrees or it runs all day trying to catch up.

We put in a window ac unit in our master room and that has allowed us to leave the temp on 74 every where and just cool our room off when we want, which takes about 5 mins with the window unit.



What systems shoule I be looking into? Cool comfy and efficient...?

Thanks
wsjr1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 05:52 PM   #20
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,538
Rewards Points: 2,756
Default

Blower Motor quit, changed wiring now working?


If your planning on a new system in 2 years.
Might want to see about doing it this year. If you are thinking of getting a higher efficiency system. because you may be able to get one that qualifies for the tax credit. of 30% of the new system, up to $1500.00

Depending how hot it is outside. 71 is all the system should be able to cool to.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 06:01 PM   #21
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,911
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Blower Motor quit, changed wiring now working?


normally heating side is wired to low side of motor,higher speed is used for cooling.

plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comfortmaker blower intermittent problem jh44ny HVAC 12 07-31-2011 06:41 PM
Heat comes on but blower never does aczer HVAC 12 02-13-2011 06:57 AM
RUUD furnace not working blower runs ddeatrick99@hotmail.com HVAC 2 01-16-2008 09:55 PM
Trane XE 80 Blower not working SKey HVAC 3 06-25-2007 07:24 PM
Wiring of my two-zone system not working correctly AMontemagni HVAC 3 01-27-2007 12:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.