Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2012, 12:14 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Share |
Exclamation

A blower motor question to stump the MASTERS! LOTS of PICS


I pulled this motor out of our AC/Heating unit on the roof. It was completely siezed.



I called Universal Electric, now in Canada, and they directed me towards a direct replacement for this unit ( Grainger electric motor # 4KA37)

This is what the wiring looked like before I touched the unit:



3 wires- Yellow (allocated alone on the left) Red and a blue. Thats it.

The new unit from grainger came with 7 wires hanging from it.
2 brown ( Capacitor)
1 yellow (line?)
1 black (HI)
1 Blue (MED)
1 RED (LO)
1 Green (Ground)

Here is the schematic from the new 4KA37 Motor:



And a version I made for myself that eliminates the clockwise and counterclockwise rotation wires which are fine because the rotation is spot on.



NOW- I hooked the browns to the capacitor (Which is which does not matter I believe)--I grounded it with the green properly--I attached the yellow wire to where the yellow wire was on the original motor, allocated and insulated by itself on the left of the junction box.

Heres the tough part where I'm totally stumped. There are 3 terminals on the junction box atop the squirell cage left to fill. One black (hi), blue (med) and red (lo). The original motor as pictured above only had a blue and a red wire coming into it.

I have tried every concievable pattern of the red and blue wires in those three terminals and I only am getting 1 speed (Slow and not sufficient to move air through the house).

How on earth can I get the MAX speed from this 3 speed fan? The only "switch" I know of in the entire system is the thermostat which has "ON/AUTO" for the fan. Thats it. Any help and direction would be greatly appreciated.


Last edited by spatacuulous; 10-03-2012 at 09:39 PM.
spatacuulous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 01:24 AM   #2
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,502
Default

A blower motor question to stump the MASTERS! LOTS of PICS


Spat, I had a related with problem my old furnace motor
and took it down to what looks like a real hole in the wall
place that feels like it is still in the 1940's. It turns out
their business model is still 1940's but they still with
a staff of ~20 provide quick and low cost solutions for
almost any size consumer or industrial electric motor in
Southern Cal.

I took my motor in for analysis for which they charged ~25$
refundable if not repairable. Mine was not repairable,
but after a two day wait, I walked out of there with a
brand new replacement and a new belt for a little over
a hundred.
The service manager is immensely knowledgeable and
explained everything. I trust this place completely.
My old boss was an FAA Electrical Engineer who told
me that the FFA would (at least in the 60's) send
all their problem motors to Arbuckle
.
Attached Images
 

__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery

Last edited by PaliBob; 10-02-2012 at 08:48 AM.
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 04:49 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,741
Default

A blower motor question to stump the MASTERS! LOTS of PICS


Is there n old capacitor behind that wire junction terminal.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 08:47 AM   #4
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,502
Default

A blower motor question to stump the MASTERS! LOTS of PICS


Spat, I would take your new motor down to Arbuckle and have them analyze it to verify that that is indeed the correct replacement. They will use their own capacitor and verify the correct speed. It will cost you the service fee but then you will know for sure that you have the correct
replacement.
Whatever happens let us know the result.
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 11:16 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Default

A blower motor question to stump the MASTERS! LOTS of PICS


Thank you so very much for the advice. I will take both motors to the shop.
Yes, the capacitor is the original.
spatacuulous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 03:39 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,741
Default

A blower motor question to stump the MASTERS! LOTS of PICS


Take the old capacitor with you, it may be bad. You should always use a new capacitor when installing a new motor. Blow capacitor is one of the reasons a motor will run slow.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 08:46 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Default

A blower motor question to stump the MASTERS! LOTS of PICS


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Take the old capacitor with you, it may be bad. You should always use a new capacitor when installing a new motor. Blow capacitor is one of the reasons a motor will run slow.
Thank you. I will take the capacitor with me as well and report back.
spatacuulous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:37 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Default

A blower motor question to stump the MASTERS! LOTS of PICS


Quote:
Originally Posted by PaliBob View Post
The service manager is immensely knowledgeable and
explained everything. I trust this place completely.
My old boss was an FAA Electrical Engineer who told
me that the FFA would (at least in the 60's) send
all their problem motors to Arbuckle
.
Bob- Can't thank you enough for the hookup with Arbuckle. I went there this morning. Drumrolll please- The rotation was wrong.
Everything else was right and the capacitor was fine as well. I did go to grainger and pick up a new one just to be safe. I figure it's a good $6 insurance policy. They were SO good at Arbuckle. Cant say enough good things.
spatacuulous is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to spatacuulous For This Useful Post:
PaliBob (10-04-2012)
Old 10-04-2012, 02:44 PM   #9
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,502
Default

A blower motor question to stump the MASTERS! LOTS of PICS


I was equally impressed with Arbuckle. In our consumer oriented Internet age
it's easy to overlook those old time industrial shops that are still give mid-1990's
service backed up with years of experience.and a huge stock of parts.

When I took in my old split-phase motor, the motor internal wiring
insulation was so rotted that a new exact replacement was cheaper.
The new motor had a slightly different pulley which I asked about
since I thought they would just have used the original motor pulley.
The Manager showed me on the old motor the shiny area where the
where the rubber drive belt rode for 50+ years.
  • The Motor had always had the wrong pulley
  • The manager put on the correct pulley
  • If I had changed the motor myself, I would have used the original pulley
Lesson Learned: Ask around, and learn new things
Attached Images
 

__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery

Last edited by PaliBob; 10-04-2012 at 02:55 PM.
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attic Ventilation - help me understand it (lots of pics) Carling Roofing/Siding 17 04-19-2013 08:57 PM
Remodeling fire place mantle (lots of pics) supermech21 Remodeling 7 04-02-2012 08:42 AM
Condensation line flowing lots of water (pics inside) Volleyballer[G8 HVAC 12 07-26-2010 12:46 PM
Landscaping help...Lots of pics elementz Landscaping & Lawn Care 3 06-08-2010 11:35 AM
Hole in wall w/ stress cracks... lots of detailed pics (NOT 56k connection friendly) Thaipo Building & Construction 8 05-21-2007 06:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.