Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2009, 09:47 PM   #1
Lighting Store Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Northern Co.
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Blower motor problem


My blower motor will not run from a dead stop. If I manually turn the motor and turn on the furnace everything it ok. The motor is a 4m100 Dayton if that makes any difference. I know the motor is good because it is new. Please help.

Im moving on to finishing the basement bathroom next!


Last edited by noco; 12-04-2009 at 10:51 PM.
noco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 04:53 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,109
Rewards Points: 118
Default

Blower motor problem


Did they old motor do the same thing.

Did you also get a new capacitor, or are you reusing the old one.
Old one may be bad. Which means old motor might have been good.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 12:41 PM   #3
Lighting Store Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Northern Co.
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Blower motor problem


I just learn'd that and am getting a new capacitor right now. Ill let you know how it goes.
noco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 03:52 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Blower motor problem


That new cap almost certainly will fix it.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 04:58 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Blower motor problem


Another lesson learned, don't feel bad it happens to all of us.

You still saved a buck or two.
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 07:20 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Blower motor problem


Usually the DIYer replaces the least costly, easiest-to-replace component first, regardless of the likelihood that it is the problem.
You did the reverse.
Why?
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 10:47 PM   #7
Lighting Store Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Northern Co.
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Blower motor problem


Im new to the whole diy thing. Im just handy enough to be dangerous. I like the sport of it. Ive never tried to fix a furnace before. Yes I spent a few more buck but when it happens again I will have the lessons learned and will do better the second time. And yes the cap was the problem. I have an extra motor if anyone needs one. 4m100g and a bad cap.
noco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 02:53 AM   #8
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Blower motor problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Usually the DIYer replaces the least costly, easiest-to-replace component first, regardless of the likelihood that it is the problem.
You did the reverse.
Why?
because he has been reading all your posts and knew if he did something against the statistics it would drive you nuts yoyziey


How's hagin' O one of excess gray matter?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 07:12 AM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,422
Rewards Points: 68
Default

Blower motor problem


A dying capacitor will overheat and shorten the life of your old motor so don't feel too bad. You may need the new one soon.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 08:23 AM   #10
Lighting Store Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Northern Co.
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Blower motor problem


Great chatroom by the way! Thanks for the help even though I am a little late. Ill know where to go the next time.
noco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 11:26 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Blower motor problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
because he has been reading all your posts and knew if he did something against the statistics it would drive you nuts yoyziey


How's hagin' O one of excess gray matter?
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 10:35 PM   #12
Lighting Store Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Northern Co.
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Blower motor problem


Ok so the blower motor is working... When the motor turns on it does it twice so to speak. On - Off - On - Run. It happens quickly less than a second.

noco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comfortmaker blower intermittent problem jh44ny HVAC 12 07-31-2011 06:41 PM
Heat comes on but blower never does aczer HVAC 12 02-13-2011 06:57 AM
Acceptable Blower Vibration John_NH HVAC 15 11-21-2010 12:49 PM
Carrier 58MXA Wiring Blower Switch 63012753 HVAC 0 10-06-2009 09:09 PM
AC blower short cycling-works on heat though Steve60007 HVAC 14 06-22-2009 04:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.